The 2nd annual Windy Awards were held on Saturday, February 25 at the Winnipeg Film Group’s Cinematheque.

The Windy Awards are designed to provide special recognition to independent Manitoba cinema. Each winner received a statue and a cash prize, which totaled $2,500 over 10 awards.

The event was wittily hosted by former CBC radio personality Terry McLeod and the awards were presented by a variety of sponsors and community members.

And the Windy Award goes to:

The On Screen Manitoba Screenplay Award – $150 prize
Imitations – Milos Mitrovic

The William F. White Cinematography Award – $150 prize
Menorca – Markus Henkel

The Stan Mak Memorial Sound Award, sponsored by IATSE 856 – $150 prize
Menorca – Mitch Dorge

The Midcan Editing Award – $150 prize
Imitations – Markus. Milos. Ian. Fabian.

The Production Design Award – $150 prize
Menorca – Gordon Wilding

The NSI Short Fiction Award – $250 prize
Imitations – Markus. Milos. Ian. Fabian.

The Gimme Some Truth Festival Short Documentary Award – $250 prize
A Tennis Story – Tyson Caron

The Animation / Experimental Award – TIE – $250 prize
“The Talk” True Stories About The Birds & The Bees – Alain Delannoy
Holland, Man. – Aaron Zeghers

The William F. White Feature Length Film Award – $1,000 prize
Menorca – John Barnard

For photos from the event check out our twitter feed!

The 2017 Windy Awards have been generously sponsored by William F. White International, IATSE 856, the National Screen Institute, Midcan and On Screen Manitoba.

The Winnipeg Film Group acknowledges the ongoing support of the Canada Council for the Arts, the Manitoba Arts Council and the Winnipeg Arts Council.

Ben Williams
(204) 925-3456 ext 109