New Manitoba Independent Film Awards Announces Nominees

Prepare to be blown away by the creativity of Manitoba’s local filmmaking community at the inaugural Windy Awards.

The Windys will be held for the first time ever Saturday, Feb 27 at 6 pm at the Winnipeg Film Group’s Cinematheque in Winnipeg’s historic Exchange District. The awards honour local filmmaking talent with four director and five craft categories.

In advance of the event, the Winnipeg Film Group is pleased to announce the nominees, as selected by jury chair film programmer and producer Joy Loewen, and accomplished filmmakers Noam Gonick and Shelagh Carter.

Come out Saturday, Feb 27 – the day before the Oscars – to experience the excitement of seeing the winners named from this amazing group of fine films!

WFW Windy Banner

Director: Feature Length Film
*The William F. White Feature Length Film Prize

  • After the Show (Steven K. Johnson)
  • The Editor (Adam Brooks, Matthew Kennedy) *Award Recipient
  • H & G (Danishka Esterhazy)

Director: First Feature Length Film

  • FM Youth (Stéphane Oystryk)
  • A Good Madness (Danielle Sturk)
  • On the Trail of the Far Fur Country (Kevin Nikkel) *Award Recipient
  • This is Why We Fight (Madison Thomas)

Director: Short Fiction
*The NSI Short Fiction Prize

  • Loss of Contact (BJ Verot, Brad Crawford) *Award Recipient
  • Mark (Justina Neepin)
  • Period Piece (James McLellan)
  • Push Parade (Kayla Jeanson)
  • Spectre (Ian Bawa, Markus Henkel, Milos Mitrovic, Fabian Velasco)

Director: Short Documentary
*The Gimme Some Truth Festival Short Documentary Prize

  • Andrew Milne Dreams of Machines (Patrick Lowe)
  • Daphne Korol: The Drama Queen (Rebecca Gibson)
  • The Healing of Heather Garden (Judith Morrow) *Award Recipient
  • The League (Jenna Neepin)


  • The Editor (Adam Brooks, Matthew Kennedy, Conor Sweeney) *Award Recipient
  • Loss of Contact (BJ Verot, Brad Crawford, Ian Bawa, Markus Henkel, Symon Ptashnick, Jeff A. Ward, Ryan Hanson)
  • Period Piece (James McLellan)
  • This is Why We Fight (Madison Thomas)

*The William F. White Cinematography Prize

  • The Editor (Adam Brooks, Matthew Kennedy) *Award Recipient
  • A Good Madness (Oscar Fenoglio)
  • H & G (Andrew Luczenczyn)
  • Period Piece (Andrew Forbes)

Production Design

  • The Editor (Adam Brooks, Matthew Kennedy) *Award Recipient
  • Period Piece (James McLellan)

Picture Editing

  • Andrew Milne Dreams of Machines (Patrick Lowe)
  • Dark Forest (Craig Guiboche)
  • The Editor (Adam Brooks) *Award Recipient
  • Period Piece (James McLellan)

Overall Sound
*The IATSE 856 Overall Sound Prize

  • Andrew Milne Dreams of Machines (Greg Lowe)  *Award Recipient
  • H & G (Danny Chodirker)

The awards ceremony has a limited number of seats available to the public. Tickets can be purchased through our online store.

The 2016 Windy Awards have been generously sponsored by William F. White International, the National Screen Institute – Canada and IATSE 856.

The Winnipeg Film Group acknowledges the ongoing support of the Canada Council for the Arts, the Manitoba Arts Council and the Winnipeg Arts Council.

WFW William F. White LOGO nsi logo IATSE856.d20080228-t121148

Cecilia Araneda
(204) 925-3456 ext 102

Dave Barber
(204) 925-3456 ext 108