Special Events

The Films of Roy Andersson: Giliap

Canadian & International Features
Special Events
The Films of Roy Andersson: Giliap
Tue, Jan 18 / 9:10pm
Thu, Jan 20 / 9pm
Andersson’s rarely screened, notorious second feature, Giliap, represented a significant departure for the director. While his debut worked within a naturalist framework, Giliap is propelled by a muted absurdism, and populated by somnambulant drifters. Its most energetic character is a …

The Films of Roy Andersson: A Pigeon Sat on a Branch Reflecting on Existence

Canadian & International Features
Special Events
The Films of Roy Andersson: A Pigeon Sat on a Branch Reflecting on Existence
Fri, Jan 21 / 7pm
Sat, Jan 22 / 9:10pm
Wed, Jan 26 / 7pm
Thu, Jan 27 / 9:45pm
In the “Living Trilogy”’s final installment, two hapless novelty salesmen wander around town hawking vampire fangs and rubber masks while bickering like an old married couple. Their small cruelties towards one another are contrasted with sequences involving Charles XII, Sweden’s …

Benedetta

Canadian & International Features
Special Events
Benedetta
Fri, Jan 21 / 9:20pm
Sat, Jan 22 / 3:30pm
Sun, Jan 23 / 4:30pm
Tue, Jan 25 / 7pm
Wed, Jan 26 / 9:20pm
Thu, Jan 27 / 7pm
Fri, Jan 28 / 9:30pm
Sat, Jan 29 / 9:30pm
Wed, Feb 2 / 7pm
A 17th-century nun becomes entangled in a forbidden lesbian affair, but it’s her shocking religious visions that threaten to shake the Church to its very core.

Bikini Drive-In: Phantasm

Canadian & International Features
Special Events
Bikini Drive-In: Phantasm
Sat, Jan 22 / 6:30pm
4K restoration! At only 23 years old, Don Coscarelli wrote, produced, directed, shot and edited his magnum opus — one that’s truly withstood the test of time, and has influenced many successive generations of filmmakers. Phantasm deftly mixes gothic horror, …

The Films of Roy Andersson: Best of GFF: About Endlessness

Canadian & International Features
Special Events
The Films of Roy Andersson: Best of GFF: About Endlessness
Fri, Jan 14 / 7pm
Sun, Jan 16 / 3:30pm
Sun, Jan 23 / 2:30pm
Tue, Jan 25 / 9:45pm
The “Living Trilogy” films were mainly built around one or two central stories. About Endlessness, Andersson’s most recent work (rumoured to be his last), also has a single through line: a priest who has lost his faith. But the film …
« January 2022 » loading...
M T W T F S S
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
Fri 21

Bootlegger

Fri, Jan 7 / 7pm
Sat, Jan 8 / 2:30pm & 5:15pm
Sun, Jan 9 / 5:40pm
Tue, Jan 11 / 9:30pm
Thu, Jan 13 / 9:30pm
Sat, Jan 15 / 9pm
Sun, Jan 16 / 5:30pm
Wed, Jan 19 / 7pm
Thu, Jan 20 / 7pm
Fri 21

The Films of Roy Andersson: Giliap

Tue, Jan 18 / 9:10pm
Thu, Jan 20 / 9pm
Sat 22

The Films of Roy Andersson: A Pigeon Sat on a Branch Reflecting on Existence

Fri, Jan 21 / 7pm
Sat, Jan 22 / 9:10pm
Wed, Jan 26 / 7pm
Thu, Jan 27 / 9:45pm
Sat 22

Benedetta

Fri, Jan 21 / 9:20pm
Sat, Jan 22 / 3:30pm
Sun, Jan 23 / 4:30pm
Tue, Jan 25 / 7pm
Wed, Jan 26 / 9:20pm
Thu, Jan 27 / 7pm
Fri, Jan 28 / 9:30pm
Sat, Jan 29 / 9:30pm
Wed, Feb 2 / 7pm
Sun 23

Bikini Drive-In: Phantasm

Sat, Jan 22 / 6:30pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact