Special Events

To Live To Sing

Canadian & International Features
Special Events
To Live To Sing
Fri, Feb 3 / 7pm
Join us for a post-screening discussion with Johnny Ma. Zhao Li is the manager of a small Sichuan Opera troupe, living and performing together in a rundown theatre located in the outskirts of Chengdu, China. When she receives the notice …

Reimagining the Black Diaspora: Black Girl

Canadian & International Features
Special Events
Reimagining the Black Diaspora: Black Girl
Sat, Feb 4 / 7pm
Sun, Feb 5 / 2:15pm
Wed, Feb 8 / 9pm
Thu, Feb 9 / 9:15pm
Ousmane Sembène, one of the greatest and most groundbreaking filmmakers who ever lived and the most internationally renowned African director of the twentieth century, made his feature debut in 1966 with the brilliant and stirring Black Girl (La noire de …

Cabin Fever: The Dark Crystal

Canadian & International Features
Special Events
Cabin Fever: The Dark Crystal
Sun, Feb 5 / 1pm
In another time, the Dark Crystal – a source of balance and truth in the universe – was shattered, dividing the world into two factions: the wicked Skeksis and the peaceful Mystics. Now, as the convergence of the three suns …

McDonald at The Movies: The Man in The White Suit

Canadian & International Features
Special Events
McDonald at The Movies: The Man in The White Suit
Thu, Feb 9 / 7pm
Join us for McDonald at The Movies, where comedian, star and co-founder of Kids in the Hall, comic Kevin McDonald will present a film handpicked from the archives of comic history. Sidney Stratton has a dream: to develop a fabric …

Reimagining the Black Diaspora: Daughters of The Dust

Canadian & International Features
Special Events
Reimagining the Black Diaspora: Daughters of The Dust
Fri, Feb 10 / 7pm
Sat, Feb 11 / 4:45pm & 9:35pm
Sun, Feb 12 / 3:15pm *
Wed, Feb 15 / 7pm
Languid look at the Gullah culture of the sea islands off the coast of South Carolina and Georgia, where African folk-ways were maintained well into the 20th Century and was one of the last bastions of these mores in America. …
« February 2023 » loading...
M T W T F S S
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
1
2
3
4
5
Fri 03

When You Finish Saving The World

Sat, Jan 28 / 5pm & 9pm
Sun, Jan 29 / 3pm & 7:30pm
Wed, Feb 1 / 7pm
Thu, Feb 2 / 7pm
Fri 03

Saint Omer

Fri, Jan 20 / 7pm
Sat, Jan 21 / 9:35pm
Sun, Jan 22 / 5pm
Fri, Jan 27 / 9pm
Sat, Jan 28 / 2:30pm
Sun, Jan 29 / 5pm
Wed, Feb 1 / 8:50pm
Thu, Feb 2 / 8:50pm
Sat 04

To Live To Sing

Fri, Feb 3 / 7pm
Sat 04

Adult Adoption

Fri, Feb 3 / 9:45pm
Sat, Feb 4 / 2:45pm
Sun, Feb 5 / 5pm
Wed, Feb 8 / 7pm
Sat 04

No Bears

Sat, Feb 4 / 4:45pm & 9:15pm
Sun, Feb 5 / 7pm
Sat, Feb 11 / 2:30pm
Sun, Feb 12 / 6pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact