Shorts & Artists Talks

WFG Translation Tour: Time and Place

Shorts & Artists Talks
WFG Translation Tour: Time and Place
Wed, May 15 / 7 pm
This program looks to filmmakers who have gone before, to fathers and mothers and grandmothers, to historical figures, to past events, and to the pop culture of the past. Featuring work by Guy Maddin, Berny Hi, Jaimz Asmundson, Matthew Rankin, Carole O’Brien, John Paizs, Cecilia Araneda, and Shimby Zegeye-Gebrehiwot.

Cream of the Crap 4: May the 24th be with 💩

Shorts & Artists Talks
Special Events
Cream of the Crap 4: May the 24th be with 💩
Fri, May 24 / 7 pm (VHS Swap), 8 pm (Screening)
Our special team of cultural archaeologists has sifted through dying video stores, thrift shops and garage sales to dig up some of the worst and weirdest home video atrocities contained on black plastic relics (or V.H.S.). In the vein of …

Solid Ground: New Indigenous Shorts

Shorts & Artists Talks
Solid Ground: New Indigenous Shorts
Wed, May 30 / 7 pm
Amanda Kindzierski introduces a program of new Indigenous work. The program feature films by Caroline Monnet, Michelle Derosier, Michael Captain, Tasha Hubbard, David Garneau, Louisa Papatie, Alexandra Lazarowich, Kelton Stepanowich, and the Digital Lodge. From fear to strength and displacement to pride, these artists take us on a journey that requires a firm footing and a strong stance. Curated by imagineNATIVE it features works from emerging to more senior Indigenous artists. Generously supported by Urban Shaman.

Winnipeg Film Group presents: The Winnipeg Underground Film Festival

Shorts & Artists Talks
Special Events
Winnipeg Film Group presents: The Winnipeg Underground Film Festival
Fri, May 31 / 7 pm & 9 pm
Sat, June 1 / 7 pm & 9 pm
The Winnipeg Underground Film Festival is an annual showcase for contemporary experimental film and video from Canada and around the world, taking place over two days at Cinematheque. This year focuses on analog films shown on 16mm, including new work by Nazli Dinçel, Dan Browne, Bea Haut, Ross Meckfessel and more.

Secret Cinema on the Rooftop!

Shorts & Artists Talks
Special Events
Secret Cinema on the Rooftop!
Sat, June 15 / 9 pm
Secret Cinema is movin’ on up 3 floors to the Artspace rooftop! Join us out under the summer night’s sky on June 15 at 9 pm as we present a specially-curated selection of 16mm film as chosen by the Cinematheque …
« April 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
Tue 23

Restoration Tuesdays: Rocco and His Brothers

Tue, Apr 2 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 9 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 16 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 23 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 30 / 7 pm
Wed 24

Burning (Beoning)

Wed, Apr 17 / 8:30 pm
Fri, Apr 19 / 7 pm
Sat, Apr 20 / 5 pm
Sun, Apr 21 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Apr 24 & 25 / 7 pm
Fri, Apr 26 / 9 pm
Sat, Apr 27 / 2 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Apr 28 / 2 pm
Fri 26

Canada’s Top Ten: Giant Little Ones

Fri, Apr 26 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, April 27 & 28 / 5 pm & 7 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact