Shorts & Artists Talks

Stories of Indigenous music and tradition: The tune is preserved among them

Shorts & Artists Talks
Special Events
Stories of Indigenous music and tradition: The tune is preserved among them
Fri, Dec 6 / 7 pm
Music has the capacity for transcending time and memory. Even beyond the use of lyric and language, a simple melody can spark a connection to history and identity, community and land, the past and the future. Winniprg Curtaor Jenny Western introduces this rich collection of Indigenous music films and videos from Ghostkeeper to Muscogee Creek Hymns

Here For Now: Short Films & Performances by Aaron Zeghers

Shorts & Artists Talks
Special Events
Here For Now: Short Films & Performances by Aaron Zeghers
Fri, Dec 13 / 7 pm
Aaron Zeghers is an internationally acclaimed filmmaker, film festival programmer and expanded cinema artist. Zeghers primarily works as an experimental filmmaker, utilizing analog formats and obsolete technologies, in-camera effects, various types of animation and other experimental techniques to create his films and expanded cinema performances.
« November 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
Thu 14

Tapeworm

Thu, Nov 14 / 7 pm
Fri, Nov 15 / 9 pm
Sat, Nov 16 / 9 pm
Sun, Nov 17 / 7 pm
Wed, Nov 20 / 9 pm
Thu 14

Assholes: A Theory

Wed, Nov 13 / 9:30 pm
Thu, Nov 14 / 9:15 pm
Fri, Nov 15 / 7 pm
Sat, Nov 16 / 3 pm
Sun, Nov 17 / 3 pm
Wed, Nov 20 / 7 pm
Sat 16

Running Water 3D

Sat & Sun, Nov 16 & 17 / 5 pm
Fri, Nov 29 / 9 pm
Sat, Nov 30 / 5 pm
Tue 19

Restoration Tuesdays: The Harder They Come

Tue, Nov 12 / 9 pm
Tue, Nov 19 / 7 pm
Tue, Nov 26 / 9 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact