New World Documentaries

100 Short Stories

Enhanced Programming
New World Documentaries
100 Short Stories
Thu, May 25 / 7 pm
Fighting the oil and gas interests in Cape Breton while trying to launch a wind energy project in Nova Scotia, Neal Livingston and his passionately engaged film have enough material for many short stories -maybe 100. He will introduce this story about predatory Capitalism, renewable energy, stopping the frackers, and contemporary life in Atlantic Canada.

David Lynch: The Art Life

New World Documentaries
David Lynch: The Art Life
Fri, May 19 / 9:30 pm
Sat, May 20 / 9 pm
Sun, May 21 / 7 pm
Thu - Sat, May 25 - 27 / 9 pm
Sun, May 28 / 7 pm
The legendary director of Blue Velvet, Mulholland Drive and Eraserhead, David Lynch takes us on an intimate journey through the formative years of his life. From his idyllic upbringing in small-town America, to the dark streets of Philadelphia, we follow Lynch as he traces the events that have helped to shape one of cinema's most enigmatic directors.

The Apology

New World Documentaries
The Apology
Fri & Sat, May 26 & 27 / 7 pm
Sun, May 28 / 3 pm
In recognition of Asian Heritage Month, the Cinematheque presents The Apology, one of the most powerful documentaries in recent memory. The film tells the story of three women- Grandma Gil in South Korea, Grandma Cao in China, and Grandma Adela in the Philippines who were amongst over 200,000 girls and women who were forced into sexual slavery. Deeply moving.

Kedi (Cats)

New World Documentaries
Kedi (Cats)
Wed, May 31 / 7 pm
Fri, June 2 / 7 pm
Sat, June 3 / 3 pm & 7 pm
Sun, Jun 4 / 3 pm
Thu - Sat, Jun 8 - 10 / 7 pm
Sun, June 11 / 3 pm
Kedi (Turkish for cats) is a charming new documentary about the street cats of Turkey. We meet café and store cats, dockside cats, cats who refuse to belong to one particular home or establishment but instead rule over a whole street. There are cats sleeping obliviously on unnervingly high-up ledges; cats padding across corrugated rusty-red roofs; cats just hanging out in doorways. Time

Jazz Film Fest: Chasing Trane: The John Coltrane Documentary

New World Documentaries
Special Events
Jazz Film Fest: Chasing Trane: The John Coltrane Documentary
Wed, Jun 14 / 7 pm
Thu, Jun 15 / 9 pm
Wed, Jun 21 / 7 pm
Thu, Jun 22 / 9:15 pm
Chasing Trane is the definitive documentary about the legendary jazz saxophone player who turned the jazz world upside down with his boundary-shattering music and worked with titans like Miles Davis. This smart, passionate, thought-provoking and uplifting documentary is for anyone who appreciates the power of jazz to entertain, inspire and transform.
« May 2017 » loading...
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
Wed 24

After the Storm

Thu, May 18 / 9 pm
Sat, May 20 / 7 pm
Sun, May 21 / 3 pm
Wed, May 24 / 7 pm
Sat, May 27 / 3 pm
Thu 25

100 Short Stories

Thu, May 25 / 7 pm
Thu 25

David Lynch: The Art Life

Fri, May 19 / 9:30 pm
Sat, May 20 / 9 pm
Sun, May 21 / 7 pm
Thu - Sat, May 25 - 27 / 9 pm
Sun, May 28 / 7 pm
Fri 26

The Apology

Fri & Sat, May 26 & 27 / 7 pm
Sun, May 28 / 3 pm
Tue 30

Moonlight Presented by Black Space Winnipeg & Cinematheque

Tue, May 30 / 6 pm
Tue, May 30 / 9 pm

Panel discussion held in PLATFORM centre for photographic + digital arts at 8 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location
We’re located across the street from Old Market Square, on the 3rd floor of the Artspace building (just upstairs from our Cinematheque) at 100 Arthur Street at Bannatyne - one block west of Main Contact Us
contact