New World Documentaries

The Super 8 Years

New World Documentaries
Special Events
The Super 8 Years
Fri, Feb 17 / 9:10pm
Sat, Feb 18 / 5:30pm
Sun, Feb 19 / 3:15pm
Thu, Feb 23 / 7pm
The French writer and 2022 Nobel Prize awardee Annie Ernaux, whose novels and memoirs have gained her a devoted following (and whose autobiographical L’Événement was adapted just last year into the critically acclaimed film Happening), opens a treasure trove with …

A String of Pearls: Finding Christa & Suzanne, Suzanne

New World Documentaries
Special Events
A String of Pearls: Finding Christa & Suzanne, Suzanne
Fri, Feb 24 / 7pm
Sat, Feb 25 / 5:15pm
Sun, Feb 26 / 3:15pm
This startlingly personal documentary presents a moving yet unsentimental view of motherhood and adoption. It explores the feelings surrounding the reunion of a young woman with her birth mother twenty years after being given up for adoption. The reunion is …

A String of Pearls: A String of Pearls & Older Women and Love

New World Documentaries
Special Events
A String of Pearls: A String of Pearls & Older Women and Love
Fri, Feb 24 / 8:55pm
Sat, Feb 25 / 7pm
Sun, Feb 26 / 5:15pm
In the final installment of her acclaimed Family Trilogy (which also includes Suzanne, Suzanne and Finding Christa), Camille Billops turns the camera on four generations of men in her family and considers the ways in which urban violence, unemployment, and …

A String of Pearls: The KKK Boutique Ain’t Just Rednecks & Take Your Bags

New World Documentaries
Special Events
A String of Pearls: The KKK Boutique Ain’t Just Rednecks & Take Your Bags
Sat, Feb 25 / 3:30pm & 8:45pm
Sun, Feb 26 / 7pm
Camille Billops and James Hatch trace the ways in which Americans have tried to ignore, deny, suppress, contain, tolerate, legislate, mock, and exploit racial discrimination within the United States. Like a modern-day Virgil and Dante, they drive, cajole, and lead …
« January 2023 » loading...
M T W T F S S
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
Sat 28

When You Finish Saving The World

Sat, Jan 28 / 5pm & 9pm
Sun, Jan 29 / 3pm & 7:30pm
Wed, Feb 1 / 7pm
Thu, Feb 2 / 7pm
Sun 29
Sun 29

Saint Omer

Fri, Jan 20 / 7pm
Sat, Jan 21 / 9:35pm
Sun, Jan 22 / 5pm
Fri, Jan 27 / 9pm
Sat, Jan 28 / 2:30pm
Sun, Jan 29 / 5pm
Wed, Feb 1 / 8:50pm
Thu, Feb 2 / 8:50pm
Wed 01

Trash Cult Tuesdays: Re-Animator

Tue, Jan 3 / 7pm
Tue, Jan 10 / 8:55pm
Tue, Jan 17 / 7pm
Tue, Jan 24 / 8:55pm
Tue, Jan 31 / 7pm
Wed 01

Trash Cult Tuesdays: Frankenhooker

Tue, Jan 3 / 9pm
Tue, Jan 10 / 7pm
Tue, Jan 17 / 9pm
Tue, Jan 24 / 7pm
Tue, Jan 31 / 9pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact