New World Documentaries

Rumble: The Indians Who Rocked The World

New World Documentaries
Rumble: The Indians Who Rocked The World
Sat, Aug 19 / 9 pm
Sun, Aug 20 / 3 pm
Sat, Aug 26 / 3 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Aug 27 / 7 pm
Thu, Aug 31 / 9 pm
The story of the profound, essential, and, until now, missing chapter in the history of American music: the Indigenous influence. Featuring music icons Charley Patton, Mildred Bailey, Link Wray, Jimi Hendrix, Jesse Ed Davis, Buffy Sainte-Marie, Robbie Robertson, Randy Castillo, and others, RUMBLE shows how these talented Native musicians helped shape the soundtracks of our lives.

Risk

New World Documentaries
Risk
Thu & Fri, Aug 17 & 18 / 9 pm
Sat, Aug 19 / 3 pm
Sun Aug 20 / 7 pm
Fri, Aug 25 / 9 pm
Laura Poitras, Academy Award winning director of Citizenfour, returns with her most personal and intimate film to date. Filmed over six years, Risk is a complex and volatile character study of Julian Assange, founder if WikiLeaks.

Eva Hesse

New World Documentaries
Eva Hesse
Wed, Aug 23 / 7 pm
Fri & Sat, Aug 25 & 26 / 7 pm
Sun, Aug 27 / 3 pm
Wed & Thu, Aug 30 & 31 / 7 pm
An extraordinary portrait of the artistic life and work of Jewish artist Eva Hesse, one of the most influential artists and sculptors of the 20th century.The film paints an exciting portrait of the 1960's New York pop art scene with the ferment of ideas and the clash of egos.

The Gardener

New World Documentaries
The Gardener
Fri - Sun, Sept 1 - 3 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Sept 6 & 7 / 7 pm
Fri, Sept 8 / 9 pm
Sat, Sept 9 / 3 pm
Sun, Sept 10 / 7 pm
Wed, Sept 13 / 7 pm
The Gardener is a documentary reflecting on the meaning of gardening and its impact on our lives. The film focuses on The Chabot Garden, world famous as one of the largest private gardens in the world and offers an intimate tour of Cabot’s lush and expansive English-style garden and estate. Beautiful cinematography invites one to stroll Cabot’s gardens and explore the different worlds crafted out of trees and hedges.

Kedi

New World Documentaries
Kedi
Fri, Sept 1 / 9 pm
Sat, Sept 2 / 3 pm & 9 pm
Sun Sept 3 / 3 pm
Sat Sept 9 / 9 pm
Kedi (Turkish for cats) is a charming and magical documentary about the street cats of Turkey who roam the metropolis of Istanbul freely.
« Aug 2017 » loading...
M T W T F S S
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
Sun 20

The Wedding Plan (Laavor et hakir)

Thu, Sept 7 / 9 pm
Fri & Sat, Sept 8 & 9 / 7 pm
Sun, Sept 10 / 3 pm
Thu, Sept 14 / 7 pm
Fri & Sat, Sept 15 & 16 / 9 pm
Sun Sept 17 / 3 pm

Sun 20

Rumble: The Indians Who Rocked The World

Sat, Aug 19 / 9 pm
Sun, Aug 20 / 3 pm
Sat, Aug 26 / 3 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Aug 27 / 7 pm
Thu, Aug 31 / 9 pm
Sun 20

Risk

Thu & Fri, Aug 17 & 18 / 9 pm
Sat, Aug 19 / 3 pm
Sun Aug 20 / 7 pm
Fri, Aug 25 / 9 pm
Wed 23

Eva Hesse

Wed, Aug 23 / 7 pm
Fri & Sat, Aug 25 & 26 / 7 pm
Sun, Aug 27 / 3 pm
Wed & Thu, Aug 30 & 31 / 7 pm
Thu 24

Lost in Artspace

Thu, Aug 24 / 8 pm - 1 am

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location
We’re located across the street from Old Market Square, on the 3rd floor of the Artspace building (just upstairs from our Cinematheque) at 100 Arthur Street at Bannatyne - one block west of Main Contact Us
contact