New World Documentaries

Restoration Tuesdays: Daguerréotypes

New World Documentaries
Special Events
Restoration Tuesdays: Daguerréotypes
Tue, Feb 4 / 3 pm
Tue, Feb 11 / 7 pm
Tue, Feb 18 / 9 pm
Tue, Feb 25 / 3 pm
Sat, Feb 29 / 5 pm
This classic documentary from Agnès Varda is an intimate portrait of the small shops and  shopkeepers of the Rue Daguerre in Paris, a picturesque street that was the filmmaker’s home for more than 50 years. The late Agnés Varda (1928-2019) …

Restoration Tuesdays: The Gleaners and I

New World Documentaries
Special Events
Restoration Tuesdays: The Gleaners and I
Tue, Feb 4 / 9 pm
Tue, Feb 11 / 3 pm
Tue, Feb 25 / 7 pm & 9 pm
Sat, Feb 29 / 7 pm
Sandrine Bonnaire won the Best Actress César for her portrayal of the defiant young drifter Mona, found frozen to death in a ditch at the beginning of Vagabond. Agnès Varda pieces together Mona’s story through flashbacks told by those who …

Varda by Agnès

New World Documentaries
Special Events
Varda by Agnès
Fri & Sat, Feb 7 & 8 / 7 pm
Sun, Feb 9 / 5 pm
Wed, Feb 12 / 9 pm
Thu, Feb 13 / 7 pm
Sat, Feb 29 / 2:30 pm
The final film from the late, beloved Agnès Varda is a characteristically playful, profound, and personal summation of the director’s own brilliant career. At once impish and wise, she acts as our spirit guide on a free-associative tour through her …

Cabin Fever: All the Time in the World

New World Documentaries
Special Events
Cabin Fever: All the Time in the World
Sun, Feb 9 / 3 pm
Free Admission!
In search of a new perspective, a family leaves the comforts of home to live in the remote Yukon wilderness for the long northern winter. The parents leave their jobs and take their three children, ages 10, 8 and 4, and spend nine months living in a small cabin with no road access, no electricity, no running water, and no internet, no TV, no phone and, most importantly, no clocks or watches. Will they survive ?
« January 2020 » loading...
M T W T F S S
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
Wed 29

Restoration Tuesdays: Heater

Tue, Jan 7 / 9 pm
Tue, Jan 14 / 7 pm
Tue, Jan 21 / 9 pm
Tue, Jan 28 / 7 pm
Wed 29

Restoration Tuesdays: Quartet

Tue, Jan 7 / 7 pm
Tue, Jan 14 / 9 pm
Tue, Jan 21 / 7 pm
Tue, Jan 28 / 9 pm
Thu 30

Canada’s Top Ten: Murmur

Thu & Fri, Jan 23 & 24 / 7 pm
Sat, Jan 25 / 2:30 pm
Sun, Jan 26 / 5 pm
Wed, Jan 29 / 7 pm
Thu 30

Canada’s Top Ten: Matthias & Maxime

Sat, Jan 25 / 9:30 pm
Wed, Jan 29 / 9 pm
Fri, Jan 31 / 9:30 pm
Sat, Feb 1 / 4:30 pm
Fri 31

Canada’s Top Ten: One Day in the Life of Noah Piugattuk

Thu, Jan 30 / 7 pm
Sat, Feb 1 / 7 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact