Loading Events
Now Playing

Won’t You Be My Neighbor? (CC)

Sat, Sept 1 / 3 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Sept 2 / 3 pm
Wed, Sept 5 / 7 pm
Fri, Sept 7 / 9 pm
Sat, Sept 8 / 3 pm
Sun, Sept 9 / 5 pm & 7 pm
Sat, Sept 15 / 7 pm

ADDED SHOWS!
Wed, Sept 12 / 9 pm
Sat, Sept 15 / 1 pm
Directed by Morgan Neville
2018, USA, 94 min

“I like you just the way you are.” With this phrase, Mister Rogers’ Neighborhood introduced generations of American children to the genial,soft-spoken man who became a father figure to many thanks to his open, compassionate communication. Fred Rogers’s heartfelt words of wisdom helped children deal with complex social issues including death and discrimination.Approaching challenging topics with honesty and warmth, for fifty years he dedicated himself to meeting the needs of children. Oscar winning director Morgan Neville has crafted a remarkably resonant film wonderfully illustrated with clips from the show, striking animation and interviews with many people who worked with, loved and were influenced by Fred Rogers.

(Closed Captioning available)

***Mr. Rogers Contest time! Order tickets online to the first 3 screenings of Won’t You Be My Neighbor? on September 1st and 2nd at Cinematheque and be entered in a draw where you could win the movie’s poster, a Ten Show Pass, a Two Headed Monster Combo (2 admissions, 2 popcorn and drink), and free passes!

Only one entry per person.

Reviews

Fred Rogers is gone and the world is a much scarier place; this film, like a gift, briefly transports us back to the calm we felt long ago.
- Moira MacDonald, Seattle Times
« April 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
Sun 21

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Sun 21

2019 Spring Basic Filmmaking Class **SOLD OUT**

March 11, 2019 - May 12, 2019 | 7pm - 10pm
Sun 21

The Woman Who Loves Giraffes

Sat, Apr 6 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Sun, Apr 7 / 3 pm
Fri, Apr 12 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, Apr 13 & 14 / 5 pm & 7 pm
Thu, Apr 18 / 7 pm
Sat, Apr 20 / 3 pm
Sun, Apr 21 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Sun 21

Burning (Beoning)

Wed, Apr 17 / 8:30 pm
Fri, Apr 19 / 7 pm
Sat, Apr 20 / 5 pm
Sun, Apr 21 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Apr 24 & 25 / 7 pm
Fri, Apr 26 / 9 pm
Sat, Apr 27 / 2 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Apr 28 / 2 pm
Tue 23

Restoration Tuesdays: Rocco and His Brothers

Tue, Apr 2 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 9 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 16 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 23 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 30 / 7 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact