Loading Events
Now Playing

Won’t You Be My Neighbor? (CC)

Sat, Sept 1 / 3 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Sept 2 / 3 pm
Wed, Sept 5 / 7 pm
Fri, Sept 7 / 9 pm
Sat, Sept 8 / 3 pm
Sun, Sept 9 / 5 pm & 7 pm
Sat, Sept 15 / 7 pm

ADDED SHOWS!
Wed, Sept 12 / 9 pm
Sat, Sept 15 / 1 pm
Directed by Morgan Neville
2018, USA, 94 min

“I like you just the way you are.” With this phrase, Mister Rogers’ Neighborhood introduced generations of American children to the genial,soft-spoken man who became a father figure to many thanks to his open, compassionate communication. Fred Rogers’s heartfelt words of wisdom helped children deal with complex social issues including death and discrimination.Approaching challenging topics with honesty and warmth, for fifty years he dedicated himself to meeting the needs of children. Oscar winning director Morgan Neville has crafted a remarkably resonant film wonderfully illustrated with clips from the show, striking animation and interviews with many people who worked with, loved and were influenced by Fred Rogers.

(Closed Captioning available)

***Mr. Rogers Contest time! Order tickets online to the first 3 screenings of Won’t You Be My Neighbor? on September 1st and 2nd at Cinematheque and be entered in a draw where you could win the movie’s poster, a Ten Show Pass, a Two Headed Monster Combo (2 admissions, 2 popcorn and drink), and free passes!

Only one entry per person.

Reviews

Fred Rogers is gone and the world is a much scarier place; this film, like a gift, briefly transports us back to the calm we felt long ago.
- Moira MacDonald, Seattle Times
« June 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
Tue 25

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Tue 25

Shoot Some 16mm Film

Camera Orientation Day: Sat. June 1, 2019 – 10 AM – 2 PM (WFG Black Lodge Studio)

Shooting Days: June 3 – July 13, 2019

Processing Day: Sat. July 13 & Sun. July 14 – 10 AM – 2 PM (WFG Media Lab and Platform Dark Room)

Optical Printer Class: Sat. July 20 | 10am - 2pm

Editing: July – August

Screening Date: TBD
Tue 25

Animation School: A 5 week intensive crash course on Animation!***SOLD OUT!

WFG Black Lodge & WFG Media Lab| June 8, 15, 22, 29 & July 6
Tue 25

Restoration Tuesdays: True Stories (New 4K Restoration)

Tue, June 4 / 9 pm
Tue, June 11 / 7 pm
Tue, June 18 / 9 pm
Tue, June 25 / 7 pm
Tue 25

Restoration Tuesdays: Amazing Grace

Tue, June 4 / 7 pm
Tue, June 11 / 9 pm
Tue, June 18 / 7 pm
Tue, June 25 / 9 pm

EXTRA SHOWS ADDED!
Sun, June 23 / 1 pm
Mon,June 24 / 7 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact