Loading Events
Now Playing

Wings of Desire (New 4K Restoration)

Wed & Thu, May 8 & 9 / 9 pm
Sat, May 11 / 5 pm & 9 pm
Sun, May 12 / 5 pm
Directed by Wim Wenders
1987, Germany, 128 min
German with English subtitles

Wings of Desire is one of cinema’s loveliest city symphonies. The late Bruno Ganz is Damiel, an angel perched atop buildings high above Berlin who can hear the thoughts—fears, hopes, dreams—of all the people living below. But when he falls in love with a beautiful trapeze artist, he is willing to give up his immortality and come back to earth just to be with her. Made not long before the fall of the Berlin wall, this stunning tapestry of sounds and images, shot in black and white and color by the legendary Henri Alekan, is movie poetry.

Sponsored by the Winnipeg Architecture Foundation.

Reviews

Wenders’ Masterpeice! A Visual Tour-De-Force!
– J. Hoberman
Part romance, part comedy, part meditation on matters political and philosophical, Wenders' remarkable movie posits a world haunted by invisible angels listening in to our thoughts... A film about the Fall and the Wall, it's full of astonishingly hypnotic images…
– Geoff Andrew, Time Out (London)
« August 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
Sun 25

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Sun 25

Shoot Some 16mm Film

Camera Orientation Day: Sat. June 1, 2019 – 10 AM – 2 PM (WFG Black Lodge Studio)

Shooting Days: June 3 – July 13, 2019

Processing Day: Sat. July 13 & Sun. July 14 – 10 AM – 2 PM (WFG Media Lab and Platform Dark Room)

Optical Printer Class: Sat. July 20 | 10am - 2pm

Editing: July – August

Screening Date: TBD
Sun 25

Meeting Gorbachev

Fri, Aug 23 / 7 pm
Sat, Aug 24 / 5 pm & 7 pm
Sun, Aug 25 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Wed, Aug 28 / 7 pm
Thu & Fri, Aug 29 & 30 / 9 pm
Sat, Aug 31 / 5 pm
Sun 25

Gimme Some Truth presents: Shella Record – A Reggae Mystery

Wed, Aug 21 / 7 pm
Thu, Aug 22 / 9:30 pm
Fri, Aug 23 / 9 pm
Sat, Aug 24 / 3 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Aug 25 / 7 pm
Wed, Aug 28 / 9 pm
Sat, Aug 31 / 9 pm
Mon 26

nîpawistamâsowin: We Will Stand Up

ADDITIONAL SCREENINGS ADDED:
Sat & Sun, Aug 3 & 4 / 1 pm
Sat, Aug 17 / 1 pm
Mon, Aug 19 / 7 pm *
Mon, Aug 26 / 7 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact