Loading Events
Now Playing

Wildlife

Sun, Feb 10 / 5 pm
Thu - Sun, Feb 14 - 17 / 7 pm
Wed, Feb 20 / 9 pm
Directed by Paul Dano
2018, USA, 105 min

In the impressive directorial debut from actor Paul Dano (There Will Be Blood, Love and Mercy), a carefully wrought adaptation of Richard Ford’s 1990 novel, a family comes apart one loosely stitched seam at a time. We are in the lonely expanses of the American west in the mid-60s. An affable man (Jake Gyllenhaal), down on his luck, runs off to fight the wildfires raging in the mountains. His wife (Carey Mulligan) strikes out blindly in search of security and finds herself running amok. It is left to their young adolescent son Joe (Ed Oxenbould) to hold the center. Co-written by Zoe Kazan, Wildlife is made with sensitivity and at a level of craft that is increasingly rare in movies.

Reviews

Tender, gorgeous and exquisitely understated.
- David Ehrlich, IndieWIRE
Remarkably assured...quietly devastating..Wildlife radiates a novelistic richness scene after scene. It’s astounding this is the director’s first time behind the camera.
- Jordan Raip, The Film Stage
« August 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
Mon 19

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Mon 19

Shoot Some 16mm Film

Camera Orientation Day: Sat. June 1, 2019 – 10 AM – 2 PM (WFG Black Lodge Studio)

Shooting Days: June 3 – July 13, 2019

Processing Day: Sat. July 13 & Sun. July 14 – 10 AM – 2 PM (WFG Media Lab and Platform Dark Room)

Optical Printer Class: Sat. July 20 | 10am - 2pm

Editing: July – August

Screening Date: TBD
Mon 19

2019 WFG Summer Teen Filmmaking Camp

Session 2: Mon Aug 12 to Fri Aug 23 (10 AM to 3 PM) | WFG Media Lab & WFG Black Lodge
Mon 19

nîpawistamâsowin: We Will Stand Up

ADDITIONAL SCREENINGS ADDED:
Sat & Sun, Aug 3 & 4 / 1 pm
Sat, Aug 17 / 1 pm
Mon, Aug 19 / 7 pm *
Mon, Aug 26 / 7 pm
Tue 20

Restoration Tuesdays: Between the Lines

Tue, Aug 6 / 7 pm
Tue, Aug 13 / 9 pm
Tue, Aug 20 / 7 pm
Tue, Aug 27 / 9 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact