Loading Events
Now Playing

Wildhood

Wed, April 20 / 7pm
Thu, April 21 / 9:30pm
Fri, April 22 / 9:30pm
Sat, April 23 / 2:30pm & 9:30pm
Sun, April 24 / 7pm
Wed, April 27 / 7pm
Thu, April 28 / 7pm
Directed by Bretten Hannam
2021, Canada, 99 min

Wednesday, April 20 screening will be followed by an in-person Q&A w/ actors Joshua Odjick and Phillip Lewitski, moderated by Albert McLeod.

When Link discovers his Mi’kmaw mother is still alive, he runs away from home with his younger brother Travis, in a desperate gamble to start a new life. They’re soon joined by Pasmay, a pow wow dancer drawn to Link’s story. Together they embark on a Two-Spirit odyssey, reconnecting with culture and the territory of Mi’kma’ki in Nova Scotia, Canada, while trying to find Link’s mother, Sarah.

Presented in partnership with National Canadian Film Day and Urban Shaman Contemporary Aboriginal Art Gallery.

Reviews

Filmed in Nova Scotia and featuring both English and Mi’kmaw, Wildhood beautifully captures the beauty of the landscape and its community as well as moments of humour, even as it treads some bleak spaces.
- Aparita Bhandari, Globe and Mail
The emotions are heavy and the sense of vulnerability unshakable in this open wound of a film about broken lineage, generational trauma and the yearning to find community.
- Radheyan Simonpillai, NOW Toronto
Hannam is a talent in control of their work. What is on the screen, captured in the performances and in the frame of the director's eye, shows a formidable truth.
- Thom Ernst, Original CIN
« July 2022 » loading...
M T W T F S S
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
Sat 02

Stanleyville

Available to rent
July 1 - August 14
Sat 02

Quickening

Available to rent
July 1 - August 14
Sat 02

Slash/Back

Available to rent
July 1 - August 14
Sat 02

Slash/Back

Fri, June 24 / 9:30pm
Sun, June 26 / 3pm
Sat, July 2 / 2:30pm
Sun, July 3 / 5pm
Sat 02

Pleasure

Thu, June 23 / 7pm
Wed, June 29 / 9:30pm
Thu, June 30 / 7pm
Fri, July 1 / 10:30pm
Sat, July 2 / 4:30pm
Sun, July 3 / 2:30pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact