Loading Events
Now Playing

What About Me: The Rise of the Nihilist Spasm Band

Fri, Sept 22 / 8:30 pm
Directed by Zev Asher
2000, Canada, 79 min

What About Me is an energetic celebration of Canada’s legendary experimental noise-music group The Nihilist Spasm Band. What About Me traces the development of the group, from its origins in 1965 as a response to ultra-conservative London Ontario, to the tragic death of one of its founding members, artist Greg Curnoe, to their tour of Japan (where they enjoy a rabid cult following and where their performances include a bizarre appearance on a Japanese variety show). The film was made for less than $20,000 and edited entirely on a Macintosh G3. It blends digitized 16mm and Super 8 film of recent and archival footage with mini-DV, Beta, and even VHS formats to give the film a unique, rich texture that reflects the band’s multi-layered, improvisational style. Featuring interviews with Nihilist mega-fan Thurston Moore (Sonic Youth) and acclaimed Canadian artist Michael Snow.

Presented in partnership with send + receive: a festival of sound. The Nihilist Spasm Band will be special guests at the 19th edition of send + receive this October 12 – 15.

Reviews

Weird and wonderful…meticulously edited…often hilarious.
-Bartley Kives, Winnipeg Free Press
« May 2018 » loading...
M T W T F S S
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
Wed 23

Loveless (Nelyubov)

Wed & Thu, May 23 & 24 / 7 pm
Sat, May 26 / 6 pm
Sun, May 27 / 3 pm
Wed, May 30 / 7 pm
Fri, Jun 1 / 7 pm
Wed, Jun 6 / 7 pm
Thu 24

The Young Karl Marx

Fri, May 18 / 9 pm
Sat, May 19 / 3 pm & 9 pm
Sun, May 20 / 3 pm & 7 pm
Thu, May 24 / 9:30 pm
Fri, May 25 / 7 pm
Sat, May 26 / 3 pm
Fri 25

Star Robot: Back to the Markus

Fri, May 25 / 9:15 pm
Sat 26

Boom for Real: The Late Teenage Years of Jean-Michel Basquiat

Thu, May 17 / 9 pm
Sat, May 19 / 5 pm & 7 pm
Sun, May 20 / 5:15 pm
Sat, May 26 / 9 pm
Sun, May 27 / 7 pm
Thu & Fri, May 31 & Jun 1 / 9:15 pm
Mon 28

WIDC SHARING AUTHENTIC VOICES: The Confidence Continuum

Monday, May 28, 2018 | Winnipeg Cinematheque,100 Arthur St, Winnipeg, MB | 5:30 pm to 8:30 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location
We’re located across the street from Old Market Square, on the 3rd floor of the Artspace building (just upstairs from our Cinematheque) at 100 Arthur Street at Bannatyne - one block west of Main Contact Us
contact