Loading Events
Now Playing

What About Me: The Rise of the Nihilist Spasm Band

Fri, Sept 22 / 8:30 pm
Directed by Zev Asher
2000, Canada, 79 min

What About Me is an energetic celebration of Canada’s legendary experimental noise-music group The Nihilist Spasm Band. What About Me traces the development of the group, from its origins in 1965 as a response to ultra-conservative London Ontario, to the tragic death of one of its founding members, artist Greg Curnoe, to their tour of Japan (where they enjoy a rabid cult following and where their performances include a bizarre appearance on a Japanese variety show). The film was made for less than $20,000 and edited entirely on a Macintosh G3. It blends digitized 16mm and Super 8 film of recent and archival footage with mini-DV, Beta, and even VHS formats to give the film a unique, rich texture that reflects the band’s multi-layered, improvisational style. Featuring interviews with Nihilist mega-fan Thurston Moore (Sonic Youth) and acclaimed Canadian artist Michael Snow.

Presented in partnership with send + receive: a festival of sound. The Nihilist Spasm Band will be special guests at the 19th edition of send + receive this October 12 – 15.

Reviews

Weird and wonderful…meticulously edited…often hilarious.
-Bartley Kives, Winnipeg Free Press
« Jan 2018 » loading...
M T W T F S S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
Sat 20

Canada’s Top Ten Shorts: Part One

Sat, Jan 20 / 3 pm
FREE ADMISSION
Sat 20

The Square

Thu, Jan 18 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, Jan 20 & 21 / 7 pm
Wed, Jan 24 / 7 pm
Thu, Jan 25 / 9:15 pm
Fri, Jan 26 / 9 pm
Sun, Jan 28 / 7 pm
Sat 20

Blue Velvet Revisited

Thu, Jan 4 / 9 pm
Fri & Sat, Jan 5 & 6 / 9:15 pm
Thu, Jan 11 / 9 pm
Sat, Jan 20 / 9:30 pm
Sun 21

Cabin Fever: Decolonizing Lens Short Films

Sun, Jan 21 / 2 pm
FREE ADMISSION
Sun 21

Bombshell: The Hedy Lamarr Story

Wed - Sun, Jan 10 - 14 / 7 pm
Wed, Jan 17 / 7 pm

EXTRA ADDED SHOWS:
Sat, Jan 20 / 1 pm
Sun, Jan 21 / 5 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location
We’re located across the street from Old Market Square, on the 3rd floor of the Artspace building (just upstairs from our Cinematheque) at 100 Arthur Street at Bannatyne - one block west of Main Contact Us
contact