Loading Events
Now Playing

We Rise Above: The Salt of The Earth

Sat, Jun 13 / 7 pm
Sun, Jun 14 / 3 pm
Sun, Jun 21 / 7 pm
Thu - Fri, Jun 25 - 26 / 7 pm
Sat, Jun 27 / 3 pm & 7 pm
Sun, Jun 28 / 3 pm
Thu - Sat, July 2 - 4 / 9 pm
Directed by Wim Wenders and Juliano Ribeiro Salgado
2014, USA, 110 min
French, English & Portuguese w/English subtitles

For the last 40 years, photographer Sebastião Salgado has been travelling through many continents, in the footsteps of an ever-changing humanity. He has witnessed some of the major events of our recent history; international conflicts, starvation and exodus. He is now embarking on the discovery of pristine territories, of wild fauna and flora, and of grandiose landscapes as part of a huge photographic project, which is a tribute to the planet’s beauty. Salgado’s life and work are revealed to us by his son, Juliano, who went with him during his last travels, and by Wim Wenders, himself a photographer.

Presented in partnership with the Canadian Museum for Human  Rights.

museum logo

Reviews

A mesmeric and unforgettable look at the world and it sufferings through the eyes of a remarkably insightful and honorable artist. -THE PLAYLIST
« May 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
Fri 24

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Fri 24

Kevin McDonald Presents: Make a Sketch Comedy Show!***STARTING MAY 8th

WFG Black Lodge | May 8, 15, 22, 29 and June 5, 12 | 7pm - 10pm
Fri 24

Camera School: An Intensive Crash Course in Cinematography!

Every Thursday: May 9, 16, 23, 30 & June 6| 7pm – 10pm
Fri 24

CatVideoFest

Thu & Fri, May 23 & 24 / 7 pm
Sat, May 25 / 3 pm & 7:15 pm
Sun, May 26 / 3 pm & 7 pm
Wed, May 29 / 7 pm
Thu, May 30 / 9 pm
Sat & Sun, June 1 & 2 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Fri 24

Cream of the Crap 4: May the 24th be with 💩

Fri, May 24 / 7 pm (VHS Swap), 8 pm (Screening)

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact