Loading Events
Now Playing

We Rise Above: The Hunting Ground

Thu, Jun 4 / 7 pm
Fri, Jun 5 / 9 pm
Sat, Jun 6 / 3 pm
Directed by Kirby Dick
2015, USA, 90 min

Documentarian Kirby Dick, who took on rape in the U.S. military in 2012’s acclaimed The Invisible War, turns to the epidemic of sexual assault on American college campuses—and the thornier issue of how and why schools don’t prosecute or even pursue the vast majority of reported cases. The emotional pull of the personal stories here is undeniable, but the hard data is equally damning: brick by brick, this film carefully and methodically builds the case that an integral part of our higher-education system isn’t just blemished but broken.

Presented in partnership with the Canadian Museum for Human  Rights

museum logo

Reviews

Heartbreaking, infuriating and unmissable.
-Entertainment Weekly   
« July 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
Wed 17

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Wed 17

Shoot Some 16mm Film

Camera Orientation Day: Sat. June 1, 2019 – 10 AM – 2 PM (WFG Black Lodge Studio)

Shooting Days: June 3 – July 13, 2019

Processing Day: Sat. July 13 & Sun. July 14 – 10 AM – 2 PM (WFG Media Lab and Platform Dark Room)

Optical Printer Class: Sat. July 20 | 10am - 2pm

Editing: July – August

Screening Date: TBD
Wed 17

2019 WFG Summer Teen Filmmaking Camp

Session 1: Mon July 8 to Fri July 19 (10 AM to 3 PM) | WFG Media Lab & WFG Black Lodge

Session 2: Mon Aug 12 to Fri Aug 23 (10 AM to 3 PM) | WFG Media Lab & WFG Black Lodge
Fri 26
Tue 30

Restoration Tuesdays: Hard Ticket to Hawaii

Tue, July 2 / 7 pm *
Tue, July 9 / 7 pm & 9pm
Tue, July 30 / 7 pm & 9pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact