Loading Events
Now Playing

We Rise Above: Granny Power

Sun, May 10 / 3 & 7 pm
Directed by Jocelyne Clark & Magnus Isacsson
2014, Canada, 78 min

We Rise Above: NEW FILMS ON HUMAN RIGHTS

In partnership with the Canadian Museum for Human Rights 

The 2nd We Rise Above film series explores issues in freedom, human rights and the need to eradicate racism. Premieres include a vitally important film on the murder and disappearances of young Aboriginal women along British Columbia’s Highway 16 and a new film on Ai Weiwei who deals with the ongoing forces of censorship in China. The series contains many tales of courage and human dignity with an entertaining and thought-provoking look at the Raging Grannies movement, a group of older women who refuse to sit down and let life pass them by.

Presented in partnership with the Canadian Museum for Human  Rights

museum logo

Series Pass:
$35.00 – General
$25.00 – Winnipeg Film Group and Cinematheque members
______________________________________________________________

Granny Power is an  entertaining and thought-provoking look at the “Raging Grannies” movement as they fight for peace, social justice and the environment. We get to understand what motivates them, see the broad range of the causes they embrace and how they have indeed found the recipe for eternal youth. The film follows granny actions that have taken place across North America in the past decade, and brings us into the lives of several witty, energetic and committed grannies as they celebrate the 25th anniversary of the movement. With disarming smiles and biting lyrics they challenge authorities and stereotypes alike.

« August 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
Wed 21

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Wed 21

Shoot Some 16mm Film

Camera Orientation Day: Sat. June 1, 2019 – 10 AM – 2 PM (WFG Black Lodge Studio)

Shooting Days: June 3 – July 13, 2019

Processing Day: Sat. July 13 & Sun. July 14 – 10 AM – 2 PM (WFG Media Lab and Platform Dark Room)

Optical Printer Class: Sat. July 20 | 10am - 2pm

Editing: July – August

Screening Date: TBD
Wed 21

2019 WFG Summer Teen Filmmaking Camp

Session 2: Mon Aug 12 to Fri Aug 23 (10 AM to 3 PM) | WFG Media Lab & WFG Black Lodge
Wed 21

Gimme Some Truth presents: Shella Record – A Reggae Mystery

Wed, Aug 21 / 7 pm
Thu, Aug 22 / 9:30 pm
Fri, Aug 23 / 9 pm
Sat, Aug 24 / 3 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Aug 25 / 7 pm
Wed, Aug 28 / 9 pm
Sat, Aug 31 / 9 pm
Wed 21

Be Natural: The Untold Story of Alice Guy-Blaché

Wed, Aug 14 / 7 pm
Thu & Fri, Aug 15 & 16 / 9:15 pm
Sat, Aug 17 / 5 pm & 9:15 pm
Sun Aug 18 / 3 pm
Wed, Aug 21 / 9 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact