Loading Events
Workshops and Training

Vinylside Chat with Alan Zweig & Screening of Vinyl

Sat, Jan 16 / 3 pm
Directed by Alan Zweig
2000, Canada, 110 min

Join Alan Zweig (aka DJ Mishegoss) for a special musical afternoon where he will introduce his classic documentary about record collectors, answer questions and play some of his favourite records.

Vinyl is one of the most legendary and astonishing documentaries about obsessive record collectors ever made. Five years in the making, the film features unforgettable interviews with over 100 obsessive record collectors including record store clerks, DJs, Elvis fanatics, a guy with half a million records crowded into his apartment, a guy who memorized the playlist of every K-Tel record and a guy who took four years to clean and play every one of his records in alphabetical order.

Reviews

Thought provoking...the film captured the very essence of why people collect the records they do....ground breaking..I was blown away by it.
-Flea Market Funk
« December 2018 » loading...
M T W T F S S
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
Mon 10

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Wed 12

I Am Cuba (Restoration)

Thu, Dec 6 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, Dec 8 & 9 / 3 pm & 7 pm
Wed - Fri, Dec 12 - 14 / 7 pm
Sat, Dec 15 / 3 pm
Thu 13

The Changeling (Restoration)

Sun, Dec 2 / 7 pm
Thu, Dec 6 / 9:30 pm
Sat, Dec 8 / 9:30 pm
Thu, Dec 13 / 9:30 pm
Fri 14

Scotty and the Secret History of Hollywood

Fri & Sat, Dec 14 & 15 / 9:30 pm
Sun, Dec 16 / 7 pm
Thu & Fri, Dec 20 & 21 / 9 pm
Sat, Dec 22 / 5 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Dec 23 / 5 pm
Sat 15

The Heat: A Kitchen (R)evolution

Sat, Dec 15 / 7 pm
Sun, Dec 16 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Wed - Fri, Dec 19 - 21 / 7 pm
Sat, Dec 22 / 3 pm & 7 pm
Sun, Dec 23 / 3 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact