Loading Events
Now Playing

VICTOR JARA: THE RIGHT TO LIVE IN PEACE

SUN, MAY 5 / 7 pm
Directed by Carmen Luz Parot
1999, Chile, 100 min

September 11, 2013 is the 40th Anniversary of Chile’s coup d’etat. The coup and its aftermath saw countless human rights violations, and many people were tortured and disappeared. As a result of this, Canada and Manitoba opened up its doors to receive many refugees from this community who were in perilous situations at the time. Nearly 40 years later, the Winnipeg Chilean community has come together to reflect upon this history through a series of public programs. This screening of Victor Jara: The Right to Live in Peaceis the inaugural event by the Chile 40 Winnipeg coalition, in partnership with the Mayworks Festival of Labour and the Arts and Winnipeg Cinematheque.

Victor Jara: The Right to Live in Peace focuses on the life and art of Victor Jara, who was revered within Chile for his work as a singer-songwriter, theatre director, folklorist and political activist. With historical footage and interviews, the film describes the dramatic story of how Jara, the son of an illiterate peasant, rose to international prominence as a Chilean folk singer. He eventually became one of the main proponents of Chilean “nueva canción” (new song) movement, which struggled through music and the arts to re-establish democracy in Chile. But his very prominence led to his ultimate detention, torture, and assassination days after the coup, chillingly recounted in the film. This documentary is a moving tribute and testimony to an artist of great vision and leadership, whose work helped unite a movement under a central goal: the right to live in peace.

« April 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
Sun 21

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Sun 21

2019 Spring Basic Filmmaking Class **SOLD OUT**

March 11, 2019 - May 12, 2019 | 7pm - 10pm
Sun 21

The Woman Who Loves Giraffes

Sat, Apr 6 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Sun, Apr 7 / 3 pm
Fri, Apr 12 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, Apr 13 & 14 / 5 pm & 7 pm
Thu, Apr 18 / 7 pm
Sat, Apr 20 / 3 pm
Sun, Apr 21 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Sun 21

Burning (Beoning)

Wed, Apr 17 / 8:30 pm
Fri, Apr 19 / 7 pm
Sat, Apr 20 / 5 pm
Sun, Apr 21 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Apr 24 & 25 / 7 pm
Fri, Apr 26 / 9 pm
Sat, Apr 27 / 2 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Apr 28 / 2 pm
Tue 23

Restoration Tuesdays: Rocco and His Brothers

Tue, Apr 2 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 9 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 16 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 23 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 30 / 7 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact