Loading Events
Now Playing

UFOs: The Secret History

Fri, May 19 / 7 pm
Directed by David Cherniack
2010, Canada, 102 min

Panel to follow with UFO expert Chris Rutkowski, Director David Cherniack, and Stan Michalak.

It is the 50th anniversary of one of the one of the strangest UFO incidents in Manitoba history. On May 20, 1967 Manitoba prospector Stefan Michalak was in the woods near Falcon Lake when he encountered a disc shaped object glowing red. As he moved to touch it a blast of hot gas shot from holes in the unidentified object onto his chest, setting his shirt on fire. For two years he was examined by more than a dozen physicians in USA and Canada none of them could explain what happened.

To mark the anniversary we present a rare screening by one of the founders of the WFG, David Cherniack, whose film explores the history of the UFO phenomenon from the dawn of the modern era in the late ’40s, up to the present moment. It examines how the question of extraterrestrial visitation…taken seriously by Air Force Intelligence from the start…quickly became a problem of national security as the public’s fear and fascination created a powerful and unpredictable mythology…one that that quickly overshadowed any possible investigation of an underlying factual reality.

Reviews

UFOs: The Secret History, a movie which was directed by: David Cherniack tries to put together accounts of the UFO phenomena, from witnesses, Scientists and other like minded people who have done research in to the field about the lesser known history of UFO’s as a whole....fascinating and entertaining. - Nathan Strack, Awesome B Movies
« Aug 2017 » loading...
M T W T F S S
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
Sun 20

The Wedding Plan (Laavor et hakir)

Thu, Sept 7 / 9 pm
Fri & Sat, Sept 8 & 9 / 7 pm
Sun, Sept 10 / 3 pm
Thu, Sept 14 / 7 pm
Fri & Sat, Sept 15 & 16 / 9 pm
Sun Sept 17 / 3 pm

Sat 19

Introduction to the Oxberry

Sunday August 20 // 12pm - 4pm & 4pm - 8pm
Sun 20

Risk

Thu & Fri, Aug 17 & 18 / 9 pm
Sat, Aug 19 / 3 pm
Sun Aug 20 / 7 pm
Fri, Aug 25 / 9 pm
Wed 23

Eva Hesse

Wed, Aug 23 / 7 pm
Fri & Sat, Aug 25 & 26 / 7 pm
Sun, Aug 27 / 3 pm
Wed & Thu, Aug 30 & 31 / 7 pm
Thu 24

Lost in Artspace

Thu, Aug 24 / 8 pm - 1 am

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location
We’re located across the street from Old Market Square, on the 3rd floor of the Artspace building (just upstairs from our Cinematheque) at 100 Arthur Street at Bannatyne - one block west of Main Contact Us
contact