Loading Events
Now Playing

Twilight Room of the Soul: The Seventh Seal (Det sjunde inseglet)

Fri, Sept 28 / 7 pm
Sat, Sept 29 / 3 pm
Sun, Sept 30 / 5 pm
Sat, Oct 6 / 5 pm
Directed by Ingmar Bergman
1957, Sweden, 96 min
Swedish with English subtitles

Often listed on critic’s lists as one of the greatest films ever made. Disillusioned and exhausted after a decade of battling in the Crusades, a knight (Max von Sydow) encounters Death on a desolate beach and challenges him to a fateful game of chess. Much studied, imitated, even parodied, but never outdone, Bergman’s stunning allegory of man’s search for meaning, The Seventh Seal (Det sjunde inseglet), was a landmark in foreign films pushing cinema’s boundaries and ushering in a new era of moviegoing.


No name is more synonymous with the postwar explosion of international art-house cinema than Ingmar Bergman, a master storyteller who startled the world with his stark intensity and naked pursuit of the most profound metaphysical and spiritual questions. This year is the centenary of Ingmar Bergman, who has proven to be, from any perspective, one of the most important film directors of the last century. These eight films are his most challenging, thought provoking, stringent, emotional documents in a career which spanned 50 years. All of these films have recently been restored in new digital formats by Janus Films and are currently touring North America. Curated by Rory Runnells and Winnipeg Film Group Cinematheque. Special thanks to Rory Runnells.

Twilight Room of The Soul: The Universe of Ingmar Bergman is generously sponsored by George Toles,  Kate, Ron and Jennifer Robinson, and Jonathan Walter.

Generously sponsored by William F. White International and IATSE 856.

    

Reviews

Riveting…mesmerizing…an outright cinema masterpiece. -Chris Ludedtke, Passport Cinema
« December 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
Sun 08

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Sun 08

Tigers Are Not Afraid

Wed & Thu, Dec 4 & 5 / 9:15 pm
Sat, Dec 7 / 3 pm & 9:15 pm
Sun, Dec 8 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Wed, Dec 11 / 9:15 pm
Sun 08

Pain & Glory

Thu Dec 5 / 7 pm
Fri, Dec 6 / 9 pm
Sat, Dec 7 / 5 pm & 7:15 pm
Sun, Dec 8 / 7 pm
Wed, Dec 11 / 7 pm
Thu, Dec 12 / 9 pm
Sat, Dec 14 / 7 pm
Sun, Dec 15 / 2 pm
Tue 10

Restorations Tuesdays: My 20th Century

Tue, Dec 3 / 9 pm
Tue, Dec 10 / 7 pm
Tue, Dec 17 / 9 pm
Tue, Dec 24 / 7 pm
Tue 10

Restoration Tuesdays: The Cremator

Tue, Dec 3 / 7 pm
Tue, Dec 10 / 9 pm
Tue, Dec 17 / 7 pm
Tue, Dec 24 / 9 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact