Loading Events
Now Playing

Trash Cult Tuesdays: Re-Animator

Tue, Jan 3 / 7pm
Tue, Jan 10 / 8:55pm
Tue, Jan 17 / 7pm
Tue, Jan 24 / 8:55pm
Tue, Jan 31 / 7pm
Dir. Stuart Gordon
1985, USA, 105 min

H.P. Lovecraft and Lucio Fulci did not team up to make the most amazing gore-sex grotesquerie of 1985. But thanks to Re-Animator, they didn’t have to. Feeling like an amalgam of Frankenstein, The Beyond, and Revenge of The Nerds, Re-Animator is where science meets chaos to produce an hyperactive overdose of gruesome insanity. Herbert West (Jeffrey Combs) is a new student at Miskatonic University. He also moonlights as a mad scientist, intent on perfecting a serum that “re-animates” corpses. Soon, everyone wants a piece of the action, including an evil professor and his army of slime-covered deadites. With berserker direction from Stuart Gordon, career-defining roles from horror icons Barbara Crampton and Jeffrey Combs, and a scene of two adults chasing an undead cat in a basement, Re-Animator isn’t just a masterpiece of the horror genre – it’s a masterpiece of life.

Reviews

Calling Re-Animator a crucial gore movie is like saying that fire is hot.
- Zack Carlson, co-author of Destroy All Movies
« February 2023 » loading...
M T W T F S S
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
1
2
3
4
5
Fri 03

When You Finish Saving The World

Sat, Jan 28 / 5pm & 9pm
Sun, Jan 29 / 3pm & 7:30pm
Wed, Feb 1 / 7pm
Thu, Feb 2 / 7pm
Fri 03

Saint Omer

Fri, Jan 20 / 7pm
Sat, Jan 21 / 9:35pm
Sun, Jan 22 / 5pm
Fri, Jan 27 / 9pm
Sat, Jan 28 / 2:30pm
Sun, Jan 29 / 5pm
Wed, Feb 1 / 8:50pm
Thu, Feb 2 / 8:50pm
Sat 04

To Live To Sing

Fri, Feb 3 / 7pm
Sat 04

Adult Adoption

Fri, Feb 3 / 9:45pm
Sat, Feb 4 / 2:45pm
Sun, Feb 5 / 5pm
Wed, Feb 8 / 7pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact