Loading Events
Now Playing

The Women’s Balcony

Sat & Sun, Nov 18 & 19 / 7 pm
Wed, Nov 22 / 7 pm
Thu, Nov 30 / 9 pm
Sat, Dec 2 / 9 pm
Sun, Dec 3 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Dec 6 & 7 / 7 pm
Sat, Dec 9 / 9 pm
Directed by Emil Ben-Shimon
2016, Israel, 96 min
Hebrew with English subtitles

A box office smash in Israel. An accident during a bar mitzvah celebration leads to a rift between the sexes in a devout Orthodox community in Jerusalem, in this rousing, good-hearted tale about women speaking truth to patriarchal power. When the women’s balcony in an Orthodox synagogue collapses, leaving the rabbi’s wife in a coma and the rabbi in shock, the congregation falls into crisis. Charismatic young Rabbi David appears to be a savior after the accident, but slowly starts pushing his fundamentalist ways as he tries to take control. This tests the women’s friendships and creates an almost Lysistrata-type rift between the community’s women and men.

Reviews

Beneath its gentle, comic exterior is a serious look at social and religious tensions not always apparent in the West. It’s impossible to resist a film that has such rich characters, and makes a complicated subject both enlightening and entertaining.
- San Francisco Chronicle
« Oct 2018 » loading...
M T W T F S S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
Sun 21

Shoot Some 16mm – A 16mm Film Workshop

Camera Orientation Day: Sat. Sept 8, 2018 - 10 AM - 2 PM
Shooting Days: Sept 10 - Oct 19, 2018
Processing Day: Sat. Oct 20 & Sun. Oct 21 - 10 AM - 2 PM
Editing: Oct 22 - Dec 5, 2017
Screening Date: TBD
Sun 21

2018 Fall Basic Filmmaking Class **SOLD OUT**

October 9, 2018 - November 25, 2018
Sun 21

Twilight Room of the Soul: Persona

Sat, Oct 20 / 3 pm
Sun, Oct 21 / 5 pm
Mon 22

Colour Correcting 101: DaVinci Resolve Workshop

WFG Media Lab | Monday October 22 & Thursday October 25 2018 | 7pm - 10pm
Wed 24

The Vivian Maier Mystery

Wed, Oct 24 / 7 pm
Fri – Sun, Oct 26 – 28 / 7 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact