Loading Events
Now Playing

The Woman Who Loves Giraffes

Sat, Apr 6 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Sun, Apr 7 / 3 pm
Fri, Apr 12 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, Apr 13 & 14 / 5 pm & 7 pm
Thu, Apr 18 / 7 pm
Sat, Apr 20 / 3 pm
Sun, Apr 21 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Directed by Alison Reid
2018, Canada, 83 min

In 1956, four years before Jane Goodall ventured into the world of chimpanzees and seven years before Dian Fossey left to work with mountain gorillas, 23-year-old Canadian biologist, Anne Innis Dagg, made an unprecedented solo journey to South Africa to become the first person in the world to study animal behaviour in the wild on that continent. In The Woman Who Loves Giraffes, an older, wiser Anne takes us on her first expedition back to Africa where her trail-blazing journey began more than half a century ago. Retracing her original steps, Anne offers an intimate window into her life as a young woman, juxtaposing it with a firsthand look at the devastating reality that giraffes face today. Both the world’s first ‘giraffologist’, whose research findings ultimately became the foundation for many scientists following in her footsteps, and the species she loves have each experienced triumphs as well as suffering some nasty battle scars. The Woman Who Loves Giraffes gives us a moving perspective on both.

Reviews

The extraordinary life and career of Toronto born zoologist Anne Innis Dagg gets a loving and much deserved tribute...enlightening, inspirational, and rousing.
- Andrew Parker, The Gate
« May 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
Sun 26

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Sun 26

Kevin McDonald Presents: Make a Sketch Comedy Show!***STARTING MAY 8th

WFG Black Lodge | May 8, 15, 22, 29 and June 5, 12 | 7pm - 10pm
Sun 26

Camera School: An Intensive Crash Course in Cinematography!

Every Thursday: May 9, 16, 23, 30 & June 6| 7pm – 10pm
Sun 26

CatVideoFest

Thu & Fri, May 23 & 24 / 7 pm
Sat, May 25 / 3 pm & 7:15 pm
Sun, May 26 / 3 pm & 7 pm
Wed, May 29 / 7 pm
Thu, May 30 / 9 pm
Sat & Sun, June 1 & 2 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Sun 26

Ghost Town Anthology (Répertoire des ville disparues)

Thu - Sat, May 23 - 25 / 9 pm
Sun, May 26 / 5 pm
Wed, May 29 / 9 pm
Sun, June 2 / 7 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact