Loading Events
Now Playing

The Woman Who Loves Giraffes

Sat, Apr 6 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Sun, Apr 7 / 3 pm
Fri, Apr 12 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, Apr 13 & 14 / 5 pm & 7 pm
Thu, Apr 18 / 7 pm
Sat, Apr 20 / 3 pm
Sun, Apr 21 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Directed by Alison Reid
2018, Canada, 83 min

In 1956, four years before Jane Goodall ventured into the world of chimpanzees and seven years before Dian Fossey left to work with mountain gorillas, 23-year-old Canadian biologist, Anne Innis Dagg, made an unprecedented solo journey to South Africa to become the first person in the world to study animal behaviour in the wild on that continent. In The Woman Who Loves Giraffes, an older, wiser Anne takes us on her first expedition back to Africa where her trail-blazing journey began more than half a century ago. Retracing her original steps, Anne offers an intimate window into her life as a young woman, juxtaposing it with a firsthand look at the devastating reality that giraffes face today. Both the world’s first ‘giraffologist’, whose research findings ultimately became the foundation for many scientists following in her footsteps, and the species she loves have each experienced triumphs as well as suffering some nasty battle scars. The Woman Who Loves Giraffes gives us a moving perspective on both.

Reviews

The extraordinary life and career of Toronto born zoologist Anne Innis Dagg gets a loving and much deserved tribute...enlightening, inspirational, and rousing.
- Andrew Parker, The Gate
« August 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
Tue 20

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Tue 20

Shoot Some 16mm Film

Camera Orientation Day: Sat. June 1, 2019 – 10 AM – 2 PM (WFG Black Lodge Studio)

Shooting Days: June 3 – July 13, 2019

Processing Day: Sat. July 13 & Sun. July 14 – 10 AM – 2 PM (WFG Media Lab and Platform Dark Room)

Optical Printer Class: Sat. July 20 | 10am - 2pm

Editing: July – August

Screening Date: TBD
Tue 20

2019 WFG Summer Teen Filmmaking Camp

Session 2: Mon Aug 12 to Fri Aug 23 (10 AM to 3 PM) | WFG Media Lab & WFG Black Lodge
Tue 20

Restoration Tuesdays: Between the Lines

Tue, Aug 6 / 7 pm
Tue, Aug 13 / 9 pm
Tue, Aug 20 / 7 pm
Tue, Aug 27 / 9 pm
Tue 20

Restoration Tuesdays: The Fate of Lee Khan

Tue, Aug 13 / 7 pm
Tue, Aug 20 / 9 pm
Tue, Aug 27 / 7 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact