Loading Events
Now Playing

The Wedding Plan (Laavor et hakir)

Thu, Sept 7 / 9 pm
Fri & Sat, Sept 8 & 9 / 7 pm
Sun, Sept 10 / 3 pm
Thu, Sept 14 / 7 pm
Fri & Sat, Sept 15 & 16 / 9 pm
Sun Sept 17 / 3 pm

Directed by Rama Burshtein
2016, Israel, 110 min
Hebrew with English subtitles

32 and disillusioned with the singles marketplace, spirited bride-to-be Michal is eager for the comfort and companionship of marriage. Then her fiancé dumps her just one month before their wedding. Devastated but undeterred, she decides to keep her wedding date, leaving it to fate to provide a suitable groom. With invitations sent, the venue booked, the clock counting down to the big day, and pressure from her family mounting, Michal enlists two matchmakers to help her find Mr. Right. After a series of comically mismatched dates — including one with a charming but utterly unsuitable pop star — and many soul-bearing conversations with her sisters, Michal finds she has chemistry with someone she never expected. – Tribeca Film Festival

 

Reviews

Rama Burshtein has crafted a film that’s poignant and funny, smart and unexpected. Burshtein takes love and happiness very seriously. The Wedding Plan, with its beautiful flow between comedy and sentiment, celebrates the pursuit of love, its absurdity, intensity, and power.
- Sheila O'Malley, Film Comment
« Nov 2017 » loading...
M T W T F S S
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
Fri 17

Architecture+Film: Columbus

Fri, Nov 17 / 7 pm
Fri 17

Faces Places (Visages, Villages)

Thu & Fri, Nov 16 & 17 / 9 pm
Sat, Nov 18 / 3 pm
Thu, Nov 23 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, Nov 25 & 26 / 3 pm
Fri 17

Suspiria: 40th Anniversary 4K Restoration

Sat, Nov 11 / 9 pm
Fri, Nov 17 / 11 pm
Sat, Nov 18 / 9 pm
Fri, Nov 24 / 8:30 pm
Sat, Nov 25 / 11 pm
Sun, Nov 26 / 7 pm
Sat 18

Blue Screen//Green Screen shooting & editing!

Saturday November 18//12pm - 6pm
Sat 18

The Women’s Balcony

Sat & Sun, Nov 18 & 19 / 7 pm
Wed, Nov 22 / 7 pm
Thu, Nov 30 / 9 pm
Sat, Dec 2 / 9 pm
Sun, Dec 3 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Dec 6 & 7 / 7 pm
Sat, Dec 9 / 9 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location
We’re located across the street from Old Market Square, on the 3rd floor of the Artspace building (just upstairs from our Cinematheque) at 100 Arthur Street at Bannatyne - one block west of Main Contact Us
contact