Loading Events
Now Playing

The Third Murder

Fri & Sat, Aug 17 & 18 / 7 pm
Sun, Aug 19 / 3 pm
Wed, Aug 22 / 7 pm
Thu, Aug 23 / 9 pm
Directed by Hirokazu Kore-eda
2017, Japan, 124 min
Japanese with English subtitles

Japanese master Hirokazu Kore-eda (After the Storm, Our Little Sister) recently won Cannes highest honor, the Palme d’Or for his new feature Shoplift but prior to that he created this beautiful Rashomon like film about a man accused of murder. The Third Murder is a powerfully moving story of a man struggling to find the truth while questioning his own faith in the law. Leading attorney Shigemori (Masaharu Fukuyama, star of Kore-eda’s Like Father, Like Son) takes on the defence of murder/robbery suspect Misumi who had served time in jail for another murder 30 years ago. Shigemori’s chances of winning the case seem low – his client freely admits his guilt, despite facing the death penalty if he is convicted. As he digs deeper into the case, as he hears the testimonies of the victim’s family and Misumi himself, and the once confident Shigemori begins to doubt whether his client is the murderer after all.

*Winner of 6 Japanese Academy Awards!

Reviews

A powerful, intricately constructed meditation on the mysteries of the heart, the elusiveness of truth and the injustices of the Japanese justice system, in which the scales are tipped in favor of the prosecution....a masterpiece.
- Mark Schilling, Japan Times
« April 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
Mon 22

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Mon 22

2019 Spring Basic Filmmaking Class **SOLD OUT**

March 11, 2019 - May 12, 2019 | 7pm - 10pm
Sun 21

Burning (Beoning)

Wed, Apr 17 / 8:30 pm
Fri, Apr 19 / 7 pm
Sat, Apr 20 / 5 pm
Sun, Apr 21 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Apr 24 & 25 / 7 pm
Fri, Apr 26 / 9 pm
Sat, Apr 27 / 2 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Apr 28 / 2 pm
Tue 23

Restoration Tuesdays: Rocco and His Brothers

Tue, Apr 2 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 9 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 16 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 23 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 30 / 7 pm
Fri 26

Canada’s Top Ten: Giant Little Ones

Fri, Apr 26 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, April 27 & 28 / 5 pm & 7 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact