Loading Events
Now Playing

The Rider

Wed & Thu, Aug 1 & 2 / 7 pm
Fri, Aug 3 / 9 pm
Sat, Aug 4 / 5 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Aug 5 / 7 pm
Wed, Aug 8 / 7 pm
Thu, Aug 9 / 9 pm
Directed by Chloé Zhao
2017, USA, 104 min

Acclaimed at every major film festival from Sundance to Berlin, The Rider has won 13 major awards, including the Director’s Fortnight Award at last year’s Cannes Film Festival. A young cowboy named Brady (Brady Jandreau), once a rising star of the rodeo circuit, is warned that his competition days are over after a tragic riding accident. Brady finds himself wondering what he has to live for when he can no longer do what gives him a sense of purpose: riding and competing. In an attempt to regain control of his fate, Brady undertakes a search for new identity and tries to redefine his idea of what it means to be a man in the heartland of America.

Reviews

An entrancing, deeply moving effort, one that is certain to steal the hearts of audiences.
-Bradley Warren, The Playlist
The best film I've seen so far at Cannes....hauntingly lyrical...a work of heartbreaking beauty.
- Bilge Ebiri, Village Voice  
« Nov 2018 » loading...
M T W T F S S
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
Wed 14

Shoot Some 16mm – A 16mm Film Workshop

Camera Orientation Day: Sat. Sept 8, 2018 - 10 AM - 2 PM
Shooting Days: Sept 10 - Oct 19, 2018
Processing Day: Sat. Oct 20 & Sun. Oct 21 - 10 AM - 2 PM
Editing: Oct 22 - Dec 5, 2017
Screening Date: TBD
Wed 14

2018 Fall Basic Filmmaking Class **SOLD OUT**

October 9, 2018 - November 25, 2018
Wed 14

Filmworker

Wed & Thu, Nov 7 & 8 / 7 pm
Fri, Nov 9 / 9 pm
Sat, Nov 10 / 5 pm
Sun , Nov 11 / 3 pm
Wed & Thu, Nov 14 & 15 / 7 pm
Thu 15
Thu 15

Madeline’s Madeline

Thu, Nov 8 / 9 pm
Sat, Nov 10 / 9 pm
Sun, Nov 11 / 7 pm
Thu, Nov 15 / 9 pm
Fri, Nov 16 / 7 pm
Sat, Nov 17 / 3 pm
Sun, Nov 18 / 3 pm & 5 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact