Loading Events
Now Playing

The Rider

Wed & Thu, Aug 1 & 2 / 7 pm
Fri, Aug 3 / 9 pm
Sat, Aug 4 / 5 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Aug 5 / 7 pm
Wed, Aug 8 / 7 pm
Thu, Aug 9 / 9 pm
Directed by Chloé Zhao
2017, USA, 104 min

Acclaimed at every major film festival from Sundance to Berlin, The Rider has won 13 major awards, including the Director’s Fortnight Award at last year’s Cannes Film Festival. A young cowboy named Brady (Brady Jandreau), once a rising star of the rodeo circuit, is warned that his competition days are over after a tragic riding accident. Brady finds himself wondering what he has to live for when he can no longer do what gives him a sense of purpose: riding and competing. In an attempt to regain control of his fate, Brady undertakes a search for new identity and tries to redefine his idea of what it means to be a man in the heartland of America.

Reviews

An entrancing, deeply moving effort, one that is certain to steal the hearts of audiences.
-Bradley Warren, The Playlist
The best film I've seen so far at Cannes....hauntingly lyrical...a work of heartbreaking beauty.
- Bilge Ebiri, Village Voice  
« Sep 2018 » loading...
M T W T F S S
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
Sun 23

Camera School: An Intensive Crash Course in Cinematography **SOLD OUT**

Every Wednesday: Sept 5, 12th, 19th, 26th & Oct 3 | 7pm – 10pm
Sun 23

Shoot Some 16mm – A 16mm Film Workshop

Camera Orientation Day: Sat. Sept 8, 2018 - 10 AM - 2 PM
Shooting Days: Sept 10 - Oct 19, 2018
Processing Day: Sat. Oct 20 & Sun. Oct 21 - 10 AM - 2 PM
Editing: Oct 22 - Dec 5, 2017
Screening Date: TBD
Sun 23

Camera School: An Intensive Crash Course in Cinematography II **NEW SESSION ADDED** ** SOLD OUT**

WFG Black Lodge | Thursday: Sept 13, 20th, 27th & Wednesday: Oct 10 & 17 | 7pm – 10pm
Sun 23

The Invisible Heart

Sun, Sept 23 / 7 pm
Wed, Sept 26 / 7 pm
Thu, Sept 27 / 9 pm
Sat, Sept 29 / 5 pm
Sun, Sept 30 / 3 pm
Sun 23

2018 One Take Super 8 Event

Sunday, September 23 / 7 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location
We’re located across the street from Old Market Square, on the 3rd floor of the Artspace building (just upstairs from our Cinematheque) at 100 Arthur Street at Bannatyne - one block west of Main Contact Us
contact