Loading Events
Now Playing

The Red Turtle (La tortue rouge)

Thu & Fri, Aug 3 & 4 / 9:15 pm
Sat, Aug 5 / 7 pm
Sun, Aug 6 / 3 pm
Thu, Aug 10 / 9:15 pm
Sat, Aug 12 / 9 pm
Directed by Michaël Dudok de Wit
2016, France / Belgium / Japan, 80 min
Without dialogue

Japanese animation giant, Studio Ghibli, enlisted the talents of the Oscar-winning Dutch animator Michaël Dudok de Wit for this gorgeously animated, wondrous story about an unlikely friendship between a castaway on a deserted island and an enormous sea turtle. Shipwrecked on a deserted island, a lone man struggles to construct a raft, but his every attempt to leave the island is thwarted by an enormous sea turtle who seems intent on having him stay. Enraged, he attempts to kill the creature who is blocking his escape — but what transpires instead opens a new chapter in his life, one in which he is instructed in the ways of companionship and led to the understanding that nature must take its course.

Reviews

The Red Turtle is a visually stunning poetic fable, but there’s more on its mind than simply beauty.
- LA Times
« Nov 2017 » loading...
M T W T F S S
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
Sun 19

A Ghost Story

Thu & Fri, Nov 9 & 10 / 9 pm
Sat & Sun, Nov 11 & 12 / 7 pm
Sun, Nov 19 / 3 pm
Sun 19

The Women’s Balcony

Sat & Sun, Nov 18 & 19 / 7 pm
Wed, Nov 22 / 7 pm
Thu, Nov 30 / 9 pm
Sat, Dec 2 / 9 pm
Sun, Dec 3 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Dec 6 & 7 / 7 pm
Sat, Dec 9 / 9 pm
Mon 20

Expanded Cinema Performance Lab

Monday 6pm - 10pm | Nov. 20, 27, Dec. 4, Jan. 8, 15, 22
Thu 23

Faces Places (Visages, Villages)

Thu & Fri, Nov 16 & 17 / 9 pm
Sat, Nov 18 / 3 pm
Thu, Nov 23 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, Nov 25 & 26 / 3 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location
We’re located across the street from Old Market Square, on the 3rd floor of the Artspace building (just upstairs from our Cinematheque) at 100 Arthur Street at Bannatyne - one block west of Main Contact Us
contact