Loading Events
Now Playing

The Oslo Diaries

Fri, Aug 10 / 7 pm
Sat, Aug 11 / 3 pm
Sun, Aug 12 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Aug 15 & 16 / 7 pm
Sat, Aug 18 / 3 pm
Sun, Aug 19 / 7 pm
Directed by Mor Loushy & Daniel Sivan
2017, Canada / Israel, 97 min
Hebrew and English with subtitles

In The Oslo Diaries, directors Mor Loushy and Daniel Sivan bring us a riveting account of 1,100 days of secret talks, as told by the people who were there at the table. Their detailed and often emotional diary entries recount the political intrigue, fiery rhetoric, unlikely friendships and overwhelming desire for peace that were at the heart of the negotiations. In 1992, with Israeli-Palestinian relations at an all-time low and any communication punishable with jail, a small group of Israelis and Palestinians gathered in Oslo – secretly and illegally. The meetings came to be known as the ‘Oslo Accords’ and they changed the Middle East forever.

Reviews

Five stars. Focusing on the secret 1992 peace talks in Oslo between participants on both the Israeli and Palestinian sides of the equation, this is a film that is at once hopeful, but also feels as dangerous and tense as a great espionage thriller.
- Greg Klymkiw, Canadian Film Corner  
« January 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
Thu 24

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Wed 23

The Great Buster

Sat, Jan 19 / 3 pm & 7 pm
Sun, Jan 20 / 5 pm
Wed, Jan 23 / 7 pm
Fri, Jan 25 / 7 pm
Sun, Feb 3 / 5 pm
Thu 24

Jean-Pierre Melville: Bob le flambeur

Thu, Jan 24 / 7 pm
Sun, Jan 27 / 5 pm
Thu 24

Canada’s Top Ten: Edge of the Knife (SGaawaay K’uuna)

Thu & Fri, Jan 24 & 25 / 9 pm
Sat, Jan 26 / 5 pm & 9 pm
Sat 26

Jean-Pierre Melville: Le doulos

Fri, Jan 18 / 7 pm
Sat, Jan 26 / 3 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact