Loading Events
CINEMATHEQUE AT HOME

The Messenger

Free to view!
Friday, June 18 / 7 pm
Curated by Kaitlynn Tomaselli, imagineNATIVE

To celebrate National Indigenous Peoples’ Day, the Winnipeg Film Group’s Cinematheque, Urban Shaman, and imagineNATIVE are pleased to present the short film program The Messenger curated by Kaitlynn Tomaselli, imagineNATIVE.

“The Messenger brings together films that shine a light on the spirit and strength of female Indigenous filmmakers across Turtle Island. We witness the transcendence of culture through artistic expressions rooted in celebrating and uplifting our communities. Together, these films honour the continuing path of stories that future generations will share. Storytelling is a part of our identity. Our identity is our strength.” – Kaitlynn Tomaselli

Kaitlynn Tomaselli (Anishinaabe/Odawa + Potawatomi) is an emerging curator and arts administrator. She has worked with Debajehmujig Theatre Group, The Sudbury Theatre Centre, Native Earth Performing Arts, and currently is the Program Coordinator at imagineNATIVE Film + Media Arts.

Featuring work by Alexandra Lazarowich (Cree), Rhayne Vermette (Métis), Morningstar Angeline (Navajo, Chippewa Cree, lackfoot, Latinx), Lisa Jackson (Anishinaabe), Amanda Kindzierski, Sharon Isaac (Anishinaabe), Trinity Linklater, Elle-Máijá Tailfeathers (Blackfoot/Sámi), Justina Neepin (Cree), Jessica Lea Fleming (Métis), Sonya Ballantyne (Swampy Cree), Theola Ross (Cree), and Caroline Monnet (Algonquin-French).

« January 2022 » loading...
M T W T F S S
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
Thu 20

Sisters with Transistors

Available to rent for $9.99
January 14 - February 28
Thu 20

Greener Grass

Available to rent for $4.99
January 14 - Feb 28
Fri 21

Bootlegger

Fri, Jan 7 / 7pm
Sat, Jan 8 / 2:30pm & 5:15pm
Sun, Jan 9 / 5:40pm
Tue, Jan 11 / 9:30pm
Thu, Jan 13 / 9:30pm
Sat, Jan 15 / 9pm
Sun, Jan 16 / 5:30pm
Wed, Jan 19 / 7pm
Thu, Jan 20 / 7pm
Fri 21

The Films of Roy Andersson: Giliap

Tue, Jan 18 / 9:10pm
Thu, Jan 20 / 9pm
Sat 22

The Films of Roy Andersson: A Pigeon Sat on a Branch Reflecting on Existence

Fri, Jan 21 / 7pm
Sat, Jan 22 / 9:10pm
Wed, Jan 26 / 7pm
Thu, Jan 27 / 9:45pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact