Loading Events
Now Playing

The Humans

Fri, Jan 7 / 9pm
Sat, Jan 8 / 9:20pm
Sun, Jan 9 / 7:40pm
Tue, Jan 11 / 7pm
Wed, Jan 12 / 9:10pm
Thu, Jan 13 / 7pm
Sat, Jan 15 / 2pm
Sun, Jan 16 / 7:30pm
Wed, Jan 19 / 9pm
Directed by Stephen Karam
2021, USA, 108 min

Erik Blake has gathered three generations of his Pennsylvania family to celebrate Thanksgiving at his daughter’s apartment in lower Manhattan. As darkness falls outside and eerie things start to go bump in the night, the group’s deepest fears are laid bare. The piercingly funny and haunting debut film from writer-director Stephen Karam, adapted from his Tony Award-winning play, The Humans explores the hidden dread of a family and the love that binds them together.

Reviews

Subtlety is the strength of The Humans. It is an intelligent even-handed drama where the family’s issues aren’t played to the point where they’re gruelling and destructive. Rather, they show us something more ordinary and therefore more truthful.
- Original Cin
The film is a remarkably insightful and powerful portrait of the human condition.
- The Hollywood Reporter
« May 2022 » loading...
M T W T F S S
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
Wed 25

Nitram

Available to rent for $5.99
May 6 - June 19
Thu 26

Kamikaze Hearts

Fri, May 20 / 7pm
Sat, May 21 / 9:30pm
Wed, May 25 / 7pm
Thu, May 26 / 7pm
Thu 26

Lux Aeterna

Thu, May 19 / 7pm
Sat, May 21 / 5pm
Sun, May 22 / 3pm
Wed, May 25 / 9pm
Fri 27

Vortex

Thu, May 19 / 8:30pm
Fri, May 20 / 9:45pm
Sat, May 21 / 2pm & 6:30pm
Sun, May 22 / 4:30pm & 7:30pm
Thu, May 26 / 9pm
Fri 27

Winnipeg Underground Film Festival

Friday to Sunday, May 27 - 29

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact