Loading Events
Now Playing

The Green Fog

Thu, Jun 7 / 9:15 pm
Fri, Jun 8 / 7 pm
Sat, Jun 9 / 5 pm & 9:30 pm
Sun, Jun 10 / 7 pm
Thu & Fri, Jun 14 & 15 / 9 pm
Sat, Jun 16 / 5 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Jun 17 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Directed by Guy Maddin, Evan Johnson & Galen Johnson
2017, USA / Canada, 63 min

Opening Night introduced by Guy Maddin, Galen Johnson and Evan Johnson.

The Green Fog pays homage to Alfred Hitchcock’s spellbinding classic Vertigo. Inventive and invigorating, this “San Francisco Fantasia” is lauded by the New York Times as “a marvel of film scholarship.” It’s also a lot of fun. Maddin, working with his Forbidden Room collaborators, set himself the challenge to remake Vertigo without using footage from the Hitchcock classic, creating a “parallel-universe version,” in his words. Using Bay Area footage from a variety of sources—studio classics, ‘50s noir, experimental films, and ‘70s prime-time TV—and employing Maddin’s mastery of assemblage, the result exerts the inexorable pull of Hitchcock’s tale of erotic obsession while paying tribute to the city of San Francisco. Featuring a score by composer Jacob Garchik and Kronos Quartet.

Reviews

A dazzling exercise in found footage…a love letter to Hitchcock’s Vertigo and the city of San Francisco…rooftop chases, car pursuits, gallery viewings, cosmetic makeovers, pensive walks by the Golden Gate Bridge and much falling from high buildings are recreated through high and low art…Sources include Dark Passage, Bullitt, The Conversation, The Towering Inferno, Pacific Heights and San Andreas.
- Screen Daily
« Aug 2018 » loading...
M T W T F S S
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
Sun 19

Kayak to Klemtu

Sat & Sun, Aug 11 & 12 / 5 pm
Sat & Sun, Aug 18 & 19 / 5:15 pm
Sun 19

The Oslo Diaries

Fri, Aug 10 / 7 pm
Sat, Aug 11 / 3 pm
Sun, Aug 12 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Aug 15 & 16 / 7 pm
Sat, Aug 18 / 3 pm
Sun, Aug 19 / 7 pm
Wed 22

Women’s Film and Video Network Summer Barbecue

Wednesday, August 22, 5 PM - 9 PM, FREE!
Wed 22

The Third Murder

Fri & Sat, Aug 17 & 18 / 7 pm
Sun, Aug 19 / 3 pm
Wed, Aug 22 / 7 pm
Thu, Aug 23 / 9 pm
Thu 23

Let the Sunshine In (Un beau soleil intérieur)

Thu, Aug 23 / 7 pm
Fri, Aug 24 / 8:30 pm
Sat, Aug 25 / 3 pm
Sun, Aug 26 / 3 pm
Thu, Aug 30 / 8:30 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location
We’re located across the street from Old Market Square, on the 3rd floor of the Artspace building (just upstairs from our Cinematheque) at 100 Arthur Street at Bannatyne - one block west of Main Contact Us
contact