Loading Events
Now Playing

The Green Fog

Thu, Jun 7 / 9:15 pm
Fri, Jun 8 / 7 pm
Sat, Jun 9 / 5 pm & 9:30 pm
Sun, Jun 10 / 7 pm
Thu & Fri, Jun 14 & 15 / 9 pm
Sat, Jun 16 / 5 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Jun 17 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Directed by Guy Maddin, Evan Johnson & Galen Johnson
2017, USA / Canada, 63 min

Opening Night introduced by Guy Maddin, Galen Johnson and Evan Johnson.

The Green Fog pays homage to Alfred Hitchcock’s spellbinding classic Vertigo. Inventive and invigorating, this “San Francisco Fantasia” is lauded by the New York Times as “a marvel of film scholarship.” It’s also a lot of fun. Maddin, working with his Forbidden Room collaborators, set himself the challenge to remake Vertigo without using footage from the Hitchcock classic, creating a “parallel-universe version,” in his words. Using Bay Area footage from a variety of sources—studio classics, ‘50s noir, experimental films, and ‘70s prime-time TV—and employing Maddin’s mastery of assemblage, the result exerts the inexorable pull of Hitchcock’s tale of erotic obsession while paying tribute to the city of San Francisco. Featuring a score by composer Jacob Garchik and Kronos Quartet.

Reviews

A dazzling exercise in found footage…a love letter to Hitchcock’s Vertigo and the city of San Francisco…rooftop chases, car pursuits, gallery viewings, cosmetic makeovers, pensive walks by the Golden Gate Bridge and much falling from high buildings are recreated through high and low art…Sources include Dark Passage, Bullitt, The Conversation, The Towering Inferno, Pacific Heights and San Andreas.
- Screen Daily
« January 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
Thu 24

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Wed 23

The Great Buster

Sat, Jan 19 / 3 pm & 7 pm
Sun, Jan 20 / 5 pm
Wed, Jan 23 / 7 pm
Fri, Jan 25 / 7 pm
Sun, Feb 3 / 5 pm
Thu 24

Jean-Pierre Melville: Bob le flambeur

Thu, Jan 24 / 7 pm
Sun, Jan 27 / 5 pm
Thu 24

Canada’s Top Ten: Edge of the Knife (SGaawaay K’uuna)

Thu & Fri, Jan 24 & 25 / 9 pm
Sat, Jan 26 / 5 pm & 9 pm
Sat 26

Jean-Pierre Melville: Le doulos

Fri, Jan 18 / 7 pm
Sat, Jan 26 / 3 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact