Loading Events
Now Playing

The Goose

Sat, Nov 24 / 7 pm (Sold out) & 9 pm
Sun Nov 25 / 7 pm
Wed, Nov 28 / 7 pm
Thu & Fri, Nov 29 & 30 / 9 pm
Sat, Dec 1 / 7 pm
Sun, Dec 2 / 5 pm
Directed by Mike Maryniuk
2018, Canada, 75 min

Opening night screening introduced by Mike Maryniuk, with a special live performance by Rob Crooks.

With an all star cast of Winnipeggers including Rob Crooks, Bea Solsberg, Al Simmons,Washboard Hank Fisher, Mike Olito, James “Pinhead” Miller, Winnipeg mayoral candidate Ed Ackerman,  and Maryniuk veterans Rob Vilar and Tim Roth, The Goose is a marvel of inventive storytelling and imagination. Filmmaker magician Mike Maryniuk has conjured up weird visions like you’ve never seen before. The Goose (Rob Crooks) is a mute young man who attempts to regain his voice and escape his oppressive surroundings with the help of the inventive, but behind the times, Travel Agent. The Goose must traverse a gauntlet of miscommunication, small town bravado and his Snowbird weirdos to achieve this goal. He meets a woman known as the Escape Artist (Bea Solsberg) in the hospital and they hatch a  loose plot to migrate to Arizona, where The Goose can receive new-age voice therapy and the Escape Artist can escape winter’s clutches.

Reviews

(The Goose) finds his liberation in ventriloquism, time travel by fax, trippy conversations, stop-motion animation, vintage computers and arcade games. Maryniuk manipulates imagery like a maestro, layering on techniques in a delirious jumble. Pure punk.
- Festival du Nouveau Cinema 2018
Five stars. A beautifully crafted, cult colored love letter to Maryniuk's Manitoba....a masterwork.
- Sarah Jo Kirsch, The Uniter  
Wildly imaginative and funny kaleidoscope of madness charting the “Pilgrim’s Progress” of a young man in small-town Manitoba who wanders through the prairie landscape  mutely as he encounters a bevy of delightful nutbars. Blending gorgeously composed images, animation, eye-popping design and some of the most eccentric performances  committed to film.
- Greg Klymkiw
« April 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
Sun 21

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Sun 21

2019 Spring Basic Filmmaking Class **SOLD OUT**

March 11, 2019 - May 12, 2019 | 7pm - 10pm
Sun 21

The Woman Who Loves Giraffes

Sat, Apr 6 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Sun, Apr 7 / 3 pm
Fri, Apr 12 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, Apr 13 & 14 / 5 pm & 7 pm
Thu, Apr 18 / 7 pm
Sat, Apr 20 / 3 pm
Sun, Apr 21 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Sun 21

Burning (Beoning)

Wed, Apr 17 / 8:30 pm
Fri, Apr 19 / 7 pm
Sat, Apr 20 / 5 pm
Sun, Apr 21 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Apr 24 & 25 / 7 pm
Fri, Apr 26 / 9 pm
Sat, Apr 27 / 2 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Apr 28 / 2 pm
Tue 23

Restoration Tuesdays: Rocco and His Brothers

Tue, Apr 2 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 9 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 16 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 23 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 30 / 7 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact