Loading Events
Now Playing

The Forbidden Room

Fri, Oct 9 / 7 pm
Sat, Oct 10 / 3 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Oct 11 / 7 pm
Wed, Oct 14 / 7 pm
Thu & Fri, Oct 15 & 16 / 9 pm
Sat, Oct 17 / 9 pm
Sun, Oct 18 / 7 pm
Directed by Guy Maddin and Evan Johnson
2015, Canada, 119 min

October 9 introduction with co-director Evan Johnson & reception to follow in Artspace lobby 

Photographed over four years in Paris and Montreal, Winnipeg director Guy Maddin’s new collaborative feature is like nothing you have ever seen before – a grand ode to lost cinema. Like a fiery volcano, the beautiful imagery erupts off the screen. Honoring classic cinema while electrocuting it with energy, this Russian nesting doll of a film begins (after a prologue on how to take a bath) with the crew of a doomed submarine chewing flapjacks in a desperate attempt to breathe the oxygen within. Suddenly, impossibly, a lost woodsman wanders into their company and tells his tale of escaping from a fearsome clan of cave dwellers. From here, Maddin takes us high into the air, around the world, and into dreamscapes, spinning tales of amnesia, captivity, deception and murder, skeleton women and vampire bananas. Featuring an all star cast of great actors including Udo Kier, Charlotte Rampling, Geraldine Chaplin, Darcy Fehr, Graham Ashmore, Roy Dupuis, Mathieu Amalric, Louis Negin, and Maria de Medeiros.

 

Reviews

A celebration of the lost films of the silent era... stupendous....fascinating…hilariously madcap...a mind-melting feat of visual storytelling and performance.
-Scott Clark, Cinehouse
You'll enter The Forbidden Room anticipating something strange,but nothing can prepare you for this singular voyage into the mind of a director who dreams pure cinema.
-Cinevue
« Dec 2017 » loading...
M T W T F S S
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
Wed 20

The Little Hours

Wed – Fri, Dec 20 – 22 / 7 pm
Thu & Fri, Dec 28 & 29 / 9 pm
Sat, Dec 30 / 9 pm
Thu 21

78/52

Thu, Dec 14 / 9 pm
Fri - Sun, Dec 15 - 17 / 7 pm
Thu & Fri, Dec 21 & 22 / 9 pm
Wed 27

The Trip to Spain

Wed - Fri, Dec 27 - 29 / 7 pm
Sat, Dec 30 / 3 pm & 7 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location
We’re located across the street from Old Market Square, on the 3rd floor of the Artspace building (just upstairs from our Cinematheque) at 100 Arthur Street at Bannatyne - one block west of Main Contact Us
contact