Loading Events
Now Playing

The Editor

Thu - Sat, Aug 20 – 22 / 9:15 pm
Sun, Aug 23 / 7 pm
Wed, Aug 26 / 7 pm
Thu - Sat, Aug 27 – 29 / 9 pm
Directed by Adam Brooks & Matthew Kennedy
2014, Canada, 95 min

The genius creators from Astron-6 (Father’s Day, Manborg) have produced a self proclaimed love letter to the Italian Giallo films of the 1970s and 80s; the convoluted murder mysteries of Mario Bava, the super-saturated color palettes of Dario Argento,
and the supernatural twists of Lucio Fulci. With great guest appearances from filmmakers John Paizs, John Kozak and Ed Ackerman and ingenious effects from Steve Kostanski, the film features Astron-6 veterans Conor Sweeney, Matthew Kennedy and Adam Brooks as well as stars Udo Kier and Paz de la Huerta. The story is centred on Rey Ciso (Adam Brooks) who was once the greatest editor the world had ever seen. Since a horrific accident left him with four wooden fingers on his right hand, he’s had to resort to cutting pulp films and trash pictures. When the lead actors  from the film he’s been editing turn up murdered at the studio, Rey is fingered as the number one suspect. The bodies continue to pile up in this absurdist giallo-thriller as Rey struggles to prove his innocence and learn the sinister truth lurking behind the scenes.

 

Reviews

The Editor has all the makings of a horror classic. The writing is always sharp and delightfully mordant, the cinematography is first-rate, and the special effects are outstanding and wonderfully over-the-top. Brooks and Kennedy via the Astron-6 collective in Winnipeg have joined the ranks of the very best filmmakers …the coolest film you'll see this year. -Greg Klymkiw
« Oct 2017 » loading...
M T W T F S S
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
Thu 19

Basic Filmmaking Class

September 26 - October 29th
Thu 19
Thu 19

Bill Frisell: A Portrait

Sun Oct 8 / 7 pm
Wed, Oct 11 / 7 pm
Sun, Oct 15 / 7 pm
Wed, Oct 18 / 7 pm
Thu, Oct 19 / 9 pm
Fri 20

Endless Poetry (Poesía sin fin)

Fri, Oct 20 / 7 pm
Sat Oct 21 / 9 pm
Thu, Oct 26 / 9 pm
Sat, Oct 28 / 9 pm
Sun, Oct 29 / 7 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location
We’re located across the street from Old Market Square, on the 3rd floor of the Artspace building (just upstairs from our Cinematheque) at 100 Arthur Street at Bannatyne - one block west of Main Contact Us
contact