Loading Events
Workshops and Training

Tales From The Neighborhood: A Family of Strangers & My Jewish Death

Thu, Dec 17 / 7 pm
A Family of Strangers, Directed by Oscar Fenoglio
My Jewish Death, Directed by Saul Henteleff

Over the past several years MTS Stories From Home has sparked the creation of hundreds of hours of new intensely local TV content in Manitoba. This body of work unique in vision and vast in scope has supported local filmmakers as they tell stories that may not have been otherwise produced.

A Family of Strangers
Directed by Oscar Fenoglio, 2015, Canada, 43 min
The Mulvey Flea Market is more than just a market, it’s a place that isn’t restrained by the barriers of time. It’s a home for items and memories lost through generations as well as new ones waiting to be remembered, but more than that it’s home to a family of strangers who are dedicated to preserving what makes us who we are.

Plays With: 

My Jewish Death
Directed by Saul Henteleff, 2015, Canada, 30 min
At the funeral of Sheldon Oberman, the presiding rabbi told family and friends that Sheldon’s spirit was with us in the sanctuary. This was the first time I had heard there was a Jewish spirit or that there was a Jewish after-life. Growing up I was told that once a Jew dies, that’s it – there was nothing afterwards. The rabbi’s comments were the beginning of a very personal journey that took me into the beliefs about Jewish death, Jewish after-life and the ritual of Taharah.

This screening is generously sponsored by MTS Stories From Home 

MTS Stories From Home

« April 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
Sun 21

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Sun 21

2019 Spring Basic Filmmaking Class **SOLD OUT**

March 11, 2019 - May 12, 2019 | 7pm - 10pm
Sun 21

The Woman Who Loves Giraffes

Sat, Apr 6 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Sun, Apr 7 / 3 pm
Fri, Apr 12 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, Apr 13 & 14 / 5 pm & 7 pm
Thu, Apr 18 / 7 pm
Sat, Apr 20 / 3 pm
Sun, Apr 21 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Sun 21

Burning (Beoning)

Wed, Apr 17 / 8:30 pm
Fri, Apr 19 / 7 pm
Sat, Apr 20 / 5 pm
Sun, Apr 21 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Apr 24 & 25 / 7 pm
Fri, Apr 26 / 9 pm
Sat, Apr 27 / 2 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Apr 28 / 2 pm
Tue 23

Restoration Tuesdays: Rocco and His Brothers

Tue, Apr 2 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 9 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 16 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 23 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 30 / 7 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact