Loading Events
Now Playing

Suite Suite Chinatown

THU, JUL 7 / 7 pm
DIRS: LESLEY LOKSI CHAN, LILLIAN CHAN, ARAM SIU WAI COLLIER, HEATHER KEUNG, SERENA LEE, HOWIE SHIA, JOYCE WONG
2010 | CANADA | 40 MIN

In Suite Suite Chinatown, seven artistically diverse, award-winning Chinese Canadian filmmakers from the Greater Toronto Area are asked: “What is your Chinatown?” Their responses are woven into an interesting multi-genre cinematic vision of Chinatown where anything is possible and the unexpected shall be expected. Suite Suite Chinatown proffers a place where disposable materials take on mythic qualities; where family histories and personal memories unfold in pixilated layers; where the history of any Chinatowns anywhere can be turned on and off like a light switch. Despite their different approaches to the Chinatown theme, these second-generation filmmakers are unified by a nostalgic concern for Chinatown’s past, present and future.

PLAYS WITH

A New Year Cake, dir. Aram Siu Wai Collier, 2011, Canada, 23 min. A New Year Cake is a film profile of a grandmother, Pau Pau, and her family observed through created fictions, recreated facts and lived events set against the backdrop of Lunar New Year celebrations in San Francisco. Using a collaborative approach between the participants and director to create the film, A New Year Cake focuses on simple tasks that take on larger meaning through themes of independence, aging, legacy, and food. A New Year Cake is excerpted from a larger film triptych that is a work in progress currently entitled Cake & Dumplings.

About director Aram Siu Wai Collier: Chinese and English/Dutch, Aram Siu Wai Collier was born and raised in San Francisco, where he studied film and worked on the independently produced PBS documentaries Refugee and Who I Became. He holds an MFA in film production at York University.

Suite Suite Chinatown is generously sponsored by the Manitoba Asian Heritage Society and the Winnipeg Chinese Cultural and Community Centre.

Asian Heritage Logo

« April 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
Sun 21

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Sun 21

2019 Spring Basic Filmmaking Class **SOLD OUT**

March 11, 2019 - May 12, 2019 | 7pm - 10pm
Sun 21

The Woman Who Loves Giraffes

Sat, Apr 6 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Sun, Apr 7 / 3 pm
Fri, Apr 12 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, Apr 13 & 14 / 5 pm & 7 pm
Thu, Apr 18 / 7 pm
Sat, Apr 20 / 3 pm
Sun, Apr 21 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Sun 21

Burning (Beoning)

Wed, Apr 17 / 8:30 pm
Fri, Apr 19 / 7 pm
Sat, Apr 20 / 5 pm
Sun, Apr 21 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Apr 24 & 25 / 7 pm
Fri, Apr 26 / 9 pm
Sat, Apr 27 / 2 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Apr 28 / 2 pm
Tue 23

Restoration Tuesdays: Rocco and His Brothers

Tue, Apr 2 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 9 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 16 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 23 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 30 / 7 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact