Loading Events
Now Playing

Sugar Coated

sugar coated 2
Thu & Fri, Oct 1 & 2 / 7 pm
Sat, Oct 3 / 9 pm
Sun, Oct 4 / 3 pm
Directed by Michèle Hozer
2015, Canada, 90 min

This compelling investigative doc exposes the US sugar industry’s systematic hijacking of scientific study to bury evidence that sugar is, in fact, toxic. For 40 years, Big Sugar deflected threats to its multibillion dollar empire through creative PR and tactics strikingly similar to the way the tobacco industry disguised the fact that its products are addictive and cause fatal illnesses. As obesity rates skyrocket and doctors treat the first generation of children suffering from fatty liver disease, the sugar industry has come under increasing scrutiny from emerging scientific and medical studies.
-Lynne Fernie, Hot Docs

Discussion to follow the Sunday, Oct 4th screening with the following guests:

Phyllis Reid-Jarvis is the Director of Ultimate Potentials, an innovative training and coaching firm. Phyllis has a Bachelor’s Degree in Foods & Nutrition from the University of Manitoba and a Diploma in Dietetics from the Health Sciences Centre. She is a member of the College of Dietitians of Manitoba, Dietitians of Canada, International Coaching Federation, and the Consulting Dietitians Network.

Dr. Suzanne Buffie is a chiropractor and mom to 3 active children. She and her husband, Dr. Jared Buffie, practice family wellness chiropractic at Provencher Family Chiropractic Centre. Together they are passionate about leading families down a healthier path. They have seen first hand the amazing transformations in their patient’s health when they eliminate sugar and processed foods from their diets.

 

« Mar 2017 » loading...
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
27
28
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
Sun 26

Basic Filmmaking Class

Mar 21 - April 30
Sun 26
Sun 26

Toni Erdmann

Wed & Thu, Mar 8 & 9 / 7 pm
Sat, Mar 11 / 3 pm & 7 pm
Sun, Mar 12 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Mar 15 & 16 / 7 pm
Sat, Mar 18 / 9 pm
Sun, Mar 26 / 7 pm
Mon 27

Spring Break 2017 Teen Filmmaking Camp

Mon. March 27 - Fri. March 31 / 10AM-4PM
Wed 29

Paterson

Wed, Mar 29 / 7 pm
Thu, Mar 30 / 9 pm
Fri & Sat, Mar 31 & Apr 1 / 7 pm
Wed, Apr 5 / 7 pm
Fri, Apr 7 / 7 pm
Sat, Apr 8 / 3 pm
Sun, Apr 9 / 7 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location
We’re located across the street from Old Market Square, on the 3rd floor of the Artspace building (just upstairs from our Cinematheque) at 100 Arthur Street at Bannatyne - one block west of Main Contact Us
contact