Loading Events
Now Playing

Stories from the Neighbourhood

Wed, Oct 29 / 7 pm
Introduced by the filmmakers

Over the last several years MTS Stories from Home has sparked the creation of hundreds of hours of new intensely local TV content in Manitoba. Literally dozens of documentary films by Winnipeg filmmakers – emerging and senior – have been prominent among this new programming. This body of work, unique in vision and vast in scope, has supported local filmmakers as they tell stories that may not have been otherwise produced. This is the third of four quarterly screenings of new recent documentaries.

Some Lots / Directed by Lorne Bailey, 2014, Canada, 23 min / Through clever overlapping of archival photos of downtown Winnipeg buildings with surface parking lots Lorne Bailey offers a deadpan commentary on how we have lost many historic landmarks. These buildings include the Grace Church, Empire Hotel and the McIntyre Block on Main Street.

Kelekis, 81 Years In The Chips / Directed by Barry Lank, 2013, Canada, 23 min / Kelekis, the historic hot dog and chips restraint on Main Street closed its doors for good in January of 2013 when owner Mary Kelekis, then 88, decided to retire. Winnipeg filmmaker Barry Lank captures all the frenzy of the closing day chaos.

Buzz /Directed by Angela Heck, 2014, Canada, 22 min / Winnipeg is known as the “Mosquito capital of Canada.” It’s a place where “bug zapper” is common parlance, mosquitoes are trapped and counted and the former city entomologist was often known on a first name basis as Taz. Buzz features footage and interviews with researchers and reveals unusual facts about the dreaded mosquito as we find out that what doesn’t kill us really does make us stronger.

 This screening is generously sponsored by MTS Stories From Home.

MTS Stories From Home LOGO 

« April 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
Sun 21

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Sun 21

2019 Spring Basic Filmmaking Class **SOLD OUT**

March 11, 2019 - May 12, 2019 | 7pm - 10pm
Sun 21

The Woman Who Loves Giraffes

Sat, Apr 6 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Sun, Apr 7 / 3 pm
Fri, Apr 12 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, Apr 13 & 14 / 5 pm & 7 pm
Thu, Apr 18 / 7 pm
Sat, Apr 20 / 3 pm
Sun, Apr 21 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Sun 21

Burning (Beoning)

Wed, Apr 17 / 8:30 pm
Fri, Apr 19 / 7 pm
Sat, Apr 20 / 5 pm
Sun, Apr 21 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Apr 24 & 25 / 7 pm
Fri, Apr 26 / 9 pm
Sat, Apr 27 / 2 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Apr 28 / 2 pm
Tue 23

Restoration Tuesdays: Rocco and His Brothers

Tue, Apr 2 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 9 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 16 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 23 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 30 / 7 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact