Loading Events
Now Playing

Stalker

Sat, Sept 23 / 3 pm & 7 pm
Sun, Sept 24 / 7 pm
Fri, Sept 29 / 7 pm
Sun, Oct 8 / 3 pm
Directed by Andrei Tarkovsky
1979, Soviet Union, 163 min
Russian with English subtitles

One of the most immersive and rarefied experiences in the history of cinema has recently been re-released in a new 4K restoration. Andrei Tarkovsky’s Stalker embarks on a metaphysical journey through an enigmatic post-apocalyptic landscape. A hired guide—the “Stalker” of the title – leads a writer and a scientist into the heart of the Zone, the restricted site of a long-ago disaster, where the three men eventually zero in on the ‘room’, a place rumored to fulfill one’s most deeply held desires. Tarkovsky adapted a science-fiction novel by Arkady and Boris Strugatsky, to make what would be his final Soviet feature. He succeeded in creating a challenging and visually stunning work and his painstaking attention to material detail and sense of organic atmosphere is further enriched by this vivid new digital restoration. A religious allegory, a reflection of contemporary political anxieties, and a meditation on film itself, Stalker envelops the viewer by opening up a multitude of possible meanings.

Reviews

Stalker is a visually serene, highly metaphoric, and deeply haunting treatise on the essence of the soul. -Strictly Film School
« Dec 2017 » loading...
M T W T F S S
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
Wed 20

The Little Hours

Wed – Fri, Dec 20 – 22 / 7 pm
Thu & Fri, Dec 28 & 29 / 9 pm
Sat, Dec 30 / 9 pm
Thu 21

78/52

Thu, Dec 14 / 9 pm
Fri - Sun, Dec 15 - 17 / 7 pm
Thu & Fri, Dec 21 & 22 / 9 pm
Wed 27

The Trip to Spain

Wed - Fri, Dec 27 - 29 / 7 pm
Sat, Dec 30 / 3 pm & 7 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location
We’re located across the street from Old Market Square, on the 3rd floor of the Artspace building (just upstairs from our Cinematheque) at 100 Arthur Street at Bannatyne - one block west of Main Contact Us
contact