Loading Events
Now Playing

Special Screening and Master Class: The Last Supper

Mon, Apr 15 / 7 pm
Directed by Cynthia Roberts
1995, Canada, 96 min

WFG Executive Director Greg Klymkiw will introduce the film and provide an in-depth script-to-screen case study master class after the screening of the film. Dancer (Ken McDougall) dying of AIDS choreographs the last ninety minutes of his life before choosing to have euthanasia performed by a compassionate doctor (Daniel MacIvor) to end his suffering. Director Cynthia Roberts and producer/co-screenwriter Greg Klymkiw shot this harrowing drama at the Casey House AIDS Hospice in Toronto. Veteran actor McDougall slipped into a final coma and died four days after shooting was completed. One of the most acclaimed Canadian films ever made. Winner Best Feature Film Teddy Award (Berlin Film Festival), Critics Week Selection (Locarno International Film Festival), and invited to over 200 international film festivals.

All seats for Screening and Master Class: $10.00

Reviews

The Last Supper transgresses the terrain that normally exists between documentary and drama...Tremendously moving but morally complex. Ken McDougall is brilliant, dominating every scene in what can only be called the performance of a lifetime.
-Marc Glassman, Take One
« April 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
Tue 23

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Tue 23

2019 Spring Basic Filmmaking Class **SOLD OUT**

March 11, 2019 - May 12, 2019 | 7pm - 10pm
Tue 23

Restoration Tuesdays: Rocco and His Brothers

Tue, Apr 2 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 9 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 16 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 23 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 30 / 7 pm
Wed 24

Burning (Beoning)

Wed, Apr 17 / 8:30 pm
Fri, Apr 19 / 7 pm
Sat, Apr 20 / 5 pm
Sun, Apr 21 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Apr 24 & 25 / 7 pm
Fri, Apr 26 / 9 pm
Sat, Apr 27 / 2 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Apr 28 / 2 pm
Fri 26

Canada’s Top Ten: Giant Little Ones

Fri, Apr 26 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, April 27 & 28 / 5 pm & 7 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact