Loading Events
Now Playing

Spare Some Change: Us and Them

Wed, Oct 12 / 7 pm
Thu, Oct 13 / 8:30 pm
Directed by Krista Loughton & Jennifer Abbott
2016, Canada, 82 min

Join filmmakers and leaders in the anti-poverty movement as we explore ways to help our city’s most vulnerable. Two days of discussion and screenings about poverty and homelessness.

Introduction by Krista Loughton including singing of Welcoming Song by  Raven Hart 

Filmed over a decade, this is a deeply visceral film about transformation through human connection. Based in Victoria, BC, four charismatic people reveal the heartrending realities of their lives. The severe challenges of life on the street are portrayed with an unapologetic openness, in both emotive and humorous ways. All are struggling with addiction issues rooted in their painful childhood histories.

Siloam Mission - Colour transparency Logo - hi rez

Reviews

Remarkable...an intimate journey into the lives of four members of Victoria’s street community, their candid stories putting the film’s social issues into sharp focus...it transcends stereotypes, humanizing endearing characters while revealing their stories. It also explores the causes of addiction with input from Vancouver author and addiction expert Dr. Gabor Maté; Phil Lane Jr., a hereditary chief who uses a sacred First Nations medicine wheel as a healing tool.
-Times Colonist
« April 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
Sun 21

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Sun 21

2019 Spring Basic Filmmaking Class **SOLD OUT**

March 11, 2019 - May 12, 2019 | 7pm - 10pm
Sun 21

The Woman Who Loves Giraffes

Sat, Apr 6 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Sun, Apr 7 / 3 pm
Fri, Apr 12 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, Apr 13 & 14 / 5 pm & 7 pm
Thu, Apr 18 / 7 pm
Sat, Apr 20 / 3 pm
Sun, Apr 21 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Sun 21

Burning (Beoning)

Wed, Apr 17 / 8:30 pm
Fri, Apr 19 / 7 pm
Sat, Apr 20 / 5 pm
Sun, Apr 21 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Apr 24 & 25 / 7 pm
Fri, Apr 26 / 9 pm
Sat, Apr 27 / 2 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Apr 28 / 2 pm
Tue 23

Restoration Tuesdays: Rocco and His Brothers

Tue, Apr 2 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 9 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 16 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 23 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 30 / 7 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact