Loading Events
Now Playing

Searching for Ingmar Bergman

Wed & Thu, June 5 & 6 / 9 pm
Sat, June 8 / 5 pm & 9 pm
Sun, June 9 / 5 pm & 7 pm
Directed by Margarethe Von Trotta
2018, Germany/France, 99 min

On the 100th anniversary of his birth, internationally renowned director Margarethe von Trotta created a lovely personal film about Ingmar Bergman’s life and work with a circle of his closest collaborators and fellow filmmakers. Interviewees include Liv Ullmann, Olivier Assayas, Ruben Östlund, Mia Hansen-Løve, as well as Ingmar Bergman Jr., Daniel Bergman, Katinka Faragó, his script assistant for 30 years and fellow Swedish filmmaker Stig Björkman. This documentary presents key components of his legacy, as it retraces the recurrent themes of his life and art, taking us to the places that were central to Bergman’s creative achievements. Margarethe Von Trotta’s many personal connections to Ingmar Bergman lend a fresh, distinctive flavour.

Reviews

Margarethe von Trotta's documentary about Ingmar Bergman is driven by a highly personalized love for how he changed the world of cinema.
– Variety  
« July 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
Wed 17

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Wed 17

Shoot Some 16mm Film

Camera Orientation Day: Sat. June 1, 2019 – 10 AM – 2 PM (WFG Black Lodge Studio)

Shooting Days: June 3 – July 13, 2019

Processing Day: Sat. July 13 & Sun. July 14 – 10 AM – 2 PM (WFG Media Lab and Platform Dark Room)

Optical Printer Class: Sat. July 20 | 10am - 2pm

Editing: July – August

Screening Date: TBD
Wed 17

2019 WFG Summer Teen Filmmaking Camp

Session 1: Mon July 8 to Fri July 19 (10 AM to 3 PM) | WFG Media Lab & WFG Black Lodge

Session 2: Mon Aug 12 to Fri Aug 23 (10 AM to 3 PM) | WFG Media Lab & WFG Black Lodge
Fri 26
Tue 30

Restoration Tuesdays: Hard Ticket to Hawaii

Tue, July 2 / 7 pm *
Tue, July 9 / 7 pm & 9pm
Tue, July 30 / 7 pm & 9pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact