Loading Events
Now Playing

Scotty and the Secret History of Hollywood

Fri & Sat, Dec 14 & 15 / 9:30 pm
Sun, Dec 16 / 7 pm
Thu & Fri, Dec 20 & 21 / 9 pm
Sat, Dec 22 / 5 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Dec 23 / 5 pm
Directed by Matt Tyrnauer
2017, USA, 98 min

In 2012, Scotty Bowers finally spilled his secrets in the New York Times best-selling memoir ‘Full Service: My Adventures in Hollywood and the Secret Sex Lives of the Stars’, which revealed a dramatic, pre-Stonewall alternate history of Hollywood. While the studio PR machines were promoting their stars as wholesome and monogamous, Bowers was fulfilling the true desires of many of them. This cinéma-vérité documentary by director Matt Tyrnauer (Valentino: The Last Emperor) tells his story, as well as presenting eye-opening takes on icons from the Hollywood Golden Age including Cary Grant, Katharine Hepburn, Spencer Tracy, Lana Turner, Ava Gardner and many more.

Reviews

A resonant and funny portrait of a large-than-life character... captivating. Tyrnauer captures this figure with empathy, humor, and as much fascination as we too possess watching.
- Jared Mobarak, The Film Stage
« May 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
Sat 25

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Sat 25

Kevin McDonald Presents: Make a Sketch Comedy Show!***STARTING MAY 8th

WFG Black Lodge | May 8, 15, 22, 29 and June 5, 12 | 7pm - 10pm
Sat 25

Camera School: An Intensive Crash Course in Cinematography!

Every Thursday: May 9, 16, 23, 30 & June 6| 7pm – 10pm
Fri 24

CatVideoFest

Thu & Fri, May 23 & 24 / 7 pm
Sat, May 25 / 3 pm & 7:15 pm
Sun, May 26 / 3 pm & 7 pm
Wed, May 29 / 7 pm
Thu, May 30 / 9 pm
Sat & Sun, June 1 & 2 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Fri 24

Cream of the Crap 4: May the 24th be with 💩

Fri, May 24 / 7 pm (VHS Swap), 8 pm (Screening)

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact