Loading Events
Now Playing

Roma

Wed - Fri, Dec 26 - 28 / 1 pm & 4 pm
Sat & Sun, Dec 29 & 30 / 12 pm
Wed, Jan 2 / 7 pm
Thu & Fri, Jan 3 & 4 / 7 pm & 9:30 pm
Sat, Jan 5 / 3 pm & 7 pm
Sun, Jan 6 / 7 pm
Wed, Jan 9 / 7 pm
Thu & Fri, Jan 10 & 11 / 9 pm
Sat, Jan 12 / 2:30 pm
Directed by Alfonso Cuarón
2018, Mexico, 135 min
Spanish & Mixteco with English subtitles

Oscar buzz is strong for Mexican director Alfonso Cuarón (Y Tu Mamá También, Gravity) who returns with his best film so far: a thrilling, engrossing and moving picture with a richly personal story to tell. Beautifully and dynamically shot in black and white, and in his native language. Roma tells the story of Cleo (played by Yalitza Aparicio), a young woman of Mixteco heritage working as a live-in maid for a beleaguered upper-middle class family in Mexico City. With brilliant cinematography and a spectacular sound design, Cuarón has created a deeply personal memoir about his childhood and the women who raised him.

Reviews

A densely realised, intimate drama....it is also at times like a soap opera or telenovela. It feels resoundingly like an epic. Every scene, every character and every shot has been nurtured with loving care. There are lovely set-pieces. An outstanding film. - Peter Bradshaw, The Guardian. A glorious, tender picture. Roma follows in the tradition of neorealist filmmakers like Vittorio De Sica and Satyajit Ray. Roma is an invitation to generosity that we perhaps didn’t know we could feel. -Stephanie Zacharek, Time. An immersive bath in some of the most luxuriantly beautiful black-and-white images you’ve ever seen, this is the work of a great filmmaker who exhibits absolute control and confidence in what he’s doing...Rapturously beautiful. - Todd MCarthy, Hollywood Reporter.
« May 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
Sat 25

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Sat 25

Kevin McDonald Presents: Make a Sketch Comedy Show!***STARTING MAY 8th

WFG Black Lodge | May 8, 15, 22, 29 and June 5, 12 | 7pm - 10pm
Sat 25

Camera School: An Intensive Crash Course in Cinematography!

Every Thursday: May 9, 16, 23, 30 & June 6| 7pm – 10pm
Fri 24

CatVideoFest

Thu & Fri, May 23 & 24 / 7 pm
Sat, May 25 / 3 pm & 7:15 pm
Sun, May 26 / 3 pm & 7 pm
Wed, May 29 / 7 pm
Thu, May 30 / 9 pm
Sat & Sun, June 1 & 2 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Fri 24

Cream of the Crap 4: May the 24th be with 💩

Fri, May 24 / 7 pm (VHS Swap), 8 pm (Screening)

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact