Loading Events
Now Playing

Restoration Tuesdays: True Stories (New 4K Restoration)

Tue, June 4 / 9 pm
Tue, June 11 / 7 pm
Tue, June 18 / 9 pm
Tue, June 25 / 7 pm
Directed by David Byrne
1986, USA, 89 min

A new 4K restoration. Music icon David Byrne was inspired by tabloid headlines to make his sole foray into feature-film directing, an ode to the extraordinariness of ordinary American life and a distillation of what was in his own idiosyncratic mind. The Talking Heads front man plays a visitor to Virgil, Texas, who introduces us to the citizens of the town during preparations for its  Celebration of Specialness. Byrne uses his songs to stitch together pop iconography, voodoo rituals, and a singular variety show—all in the service of uncovering the rich mysteries that lurk under the surface of everyday experience.

Restoration Tuesdays: our new ongoing series of newly restored films is generously sponsored by IATSE 856. All admissions to these screenings is $5.  True Stories is also a special presentation with the TD Winnipeg International Jazz Festival and Brian Wolfe, RE/MAX Professionals. 

       

Reviews

Joyous, daft and hauntingly original, True Stories is Byrne's magical mystery tour of Texas.
– Sheila Benson, Los Angeles Times
David Byrne’s affectionate comedy of funhouse Americana is one of the most ahead-of-its-time films of the 1980s
– Jake Cole, Slant
« January 2020 » loading...
M T W T F S S
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
Thu 23

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Fri 24

Canada’s Top Ten: Murmur

Thu & Fri, Jan 23 & 24 / 7 pm
Sat, Jan 25 / 2:30 pm
Sun, Jan 26 / 5 pm
Wed, Jan 29 / 7 pm
Fri 24

Canada’s Top Ten: The Twentieth Century

Sat, Jan 11 / 9 pm (SOLD OUT)
Sun, Jan 12 / 7:30 pm
Wed, Jan 15 / 7 pm
Fri & Sat, Jan 17 & 18 / 9 pm
Sun, Jan 19 / 7 pm
Thu, Jan 23 / 9 pm
Sat 25

Canada’s Top Ten: Antigone

Fri, Jan 24 / 9 pm
Sat, Jan 25 / 4:30 pm
Sun, Jan 26 / 7 pm
Sat 25

Parasite

Thu, Jan 2 / 7 pm
Fri, Jan 3 / 9 pm
Sat, Jan 4 / 5 pm & 9:15 pm
Sun, Jan 5 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Jan 8 & 9 / 9 pm

ADDED SCREENINGS:
Mon, Jan 13 / 7 pm & 9:30 pm
Sun, Jan 19 / 12 pm
Mon, Jan 20 / 7 pm & 9:30 pm
Sat, Jan 25 / 12 pm
Sun, Jan 26 / 12 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact