Loading Events
Now Playing

Restoration Tuesdays: The Juniper Tree (New 4K Restoration)

Tue, May 14 / 9:15 pm
Tue, May 21 / 7 pm
Tue, May 28 / 9:15 pm
Directed by Nietzchka Keene
1990, Iceland, 78 min

New 4K restoration by the Wisconsin Center for Film & Theater Research and The Film Foundation

Director, professor and Fulbright scholar Nietzchka Keene’s stunning debut feature The Juniper Tree is loosely based on a Brothers Grimm fairy tale of the same name, and stars Björk in her first on-screen performance. Set in medieval Iceland, it follows Margit (Björk) and her older sister Katla as they flee for safety after their mother is burned to death for witchcraft. Photographed on location in the stunning landscapes of Iceland in spectacular black-and-white, The Juniper Tree is a deeply atmospheric film, evocative of Carl Theodor Dreyer’s Day of Wrath and Ingmar Bergman’s The Virgin Spring, and is a potent allegory for misogyny and its attendant tragedies.

Restoration Tuesdays is a new series shining a light on the important work being done to preserve and promote the history of film. Generously Sponsored by IATSE 856.

Reviews

Distinctive, ambitious, and genuinely poetic.
– Los Angeles Times
An ethereal gem that’s ready to be rediscovered...A wonderful performance from a 21-year-old Björk and a stunning new 4K restoration made from the original 35mm camera negative.
– David Ehrlich, IndieWIRE
« August 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
Sun 25

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Sun 25

Shoot Some 16mm Film

Camera Orientation Day: Sat. June 1, 2019 – 10 AM – 2 PM (WFG Black Lodge Studio)

Shooting Days: June 3 – July 13, 2019

Processing Day: Sat. July 13 & Sun. July 14 – 10 AM – 2 PM (WFG Media Lab and Platform Dark Room)

Optical Printer Class: Sat. July 20 | 10am - 2pm

Editing: July – August

Screening Date: TBD
Sun 25

Meeting Gorbachev

Fri, Aug 23 / 7 pm
Sat, Aug 24 / 5 pm & 7 pm
Sun, Aug 25 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Wed, Aug 28 / 7 pm
Thu & Fri, Aug 29 & 30 / 9 pm
Sat, Aug 31 / 5 pm
Sun 25

Gimme Some Truth presents: Shella Record – A Reggae Mystery

Wed, Aug 21 / 7 pm
Thu, Aug 22 / 9:30 pm
Fri, Aug 23 / 9 pm
Sat, Aug 24 / 3 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Aug 25 / 7 pm
Wed, Aug 28 / 9 pm
Sat, Aug 31 / 9 pm
Mon 26

nîpawistamâsowin: We Will Stand Up

ADDITIONAL SCREENINGS ADDED:
Sat & Sun, Aug 3 & 4 / 1 pm
Sat, Aug 17 / 1 pm
Mon, Aug 19 / 7 pm *
Mon, Aug 26 / 7 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact