Loading Events
Now Playing

Restoration Tuesdays: Rocco and His Brothers

Tue, Apr 2 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 9 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 16 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 23 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 30 / 7 pm
Directed by Luchino Visconti
1960, Italy, 177 min

April 2nd features a skype conversation before the screening with Amy Heller, President of Milestone Films 

Looking for opportunity, five brothers move north with their mother to Milan. There, Simone and Rocco find fame, in the boxing ring, and love, in the same woman—Nadia. Jealousy mounts, blood is shed, and a striving family faces self-destruction in this incisive, sensuous, emotionally bruising masterwork from director Luchino Visconti. Painstakingly restored in 4K by the Film Foundation and the Cineteca di Bologna, Rocco and His Brothers has never looked or sounded so pristine. Praised by Martin Scorsese as “one of the most sumptuous black-and-white pictures,” the film’s baroque, impassioned majesty can once again be experienced as its filmmakers intended.

Restoration Tuesdays: our new ongoing series of newly restored films, is generously sponsored by IATSE 856. All admissions to these screenings is $5.

Reviews

A masterpiece… a film of extraordinary range and ambition.
— Dave Kehr
« August 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
Sun 25

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Sun 25

Shoot Some 16mm Film

Camera Orientation Day: Sat. June 1, 2019 – 10 AM – 2 PM (WFG Black Lodge Studio)

Shooting Days: June 3 – July 13, 2019

Processing Day: Sat. July 13 & Sun. July 14 – 10 AM – 2 PM (WFG Media Lab and Platform Dark Room)

Optical Printer Class: Sat. July 20 | 10am - 2pm

Editing: July – August

Screening Date: TBD
Sun 25

Meeting Gorbachev

Fri, Aug 23 / 7 pm
Sat, Aug 24 / 5 pm & 7 pm
Sun, Aug 25 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Wed, Aug 28 / 7 pm
Thu & Fri, Aug 29 & 30 / 9 pm
Sat, Aug 31 / 5 pm
Sun 25

Gimme Some Truth presents: Shella Record – A Reggae Mystery

Wed, Aug 21 / 7 pm
Thu, Aug 22 / 9:30 pm
Fri, Aug 23 / 9 pm
Sat, Aug 24 / 3 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Aug 25 / 7 pm
Wed, Aug 28 / 9 pm
Sat, Aug 31 / 9 pm
Mon 26

nîpawistamâsowin: We Will Stand Up

ADDITIONAL SCREENINGS ADDED:
Sat & Sun, Aug 3 & 4 / 1 pm
Sat, Aug 17 / 1 pm
Mon, Aug 19 / 7 pm *
Mon, Aug 26 / 7 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact