Loading Events
Now Playing

Restoration Tuesdays: Between the Lines

Tue, Aug 6 / 7 pm
Tue, Aug 13 / 9 pm
Tue, Aug 20 / 7 pm
Tue, Aug 27 / 9 pm
Directed by Joan Micklin Silver
1977, USA, 101 min

Please note, the August 6th post-screening panel has been cancelled. We apologize for any inconvenience.

New 2K restoration courtesy of Cohen Media Group. At the offices of a Boston alternative newspaper, the staff members enjoy a positive and open-minded work environment. Music critic Max (Jeff Goldblum) uses his influence to score dates, while news reporter Harry (John Heard) is dating the lovely Abbie (Lindsay Crouse), the publication’s lead photographer. However, it seems as though their relatively carefree days are numbered when the owner of a major publishing company buys the paper, leading to more money, but even more changes.

Restoration Tuesdays: our new ongoing series of newly restored films is generously sponsored by IATSE 856. All admissions to these screenings is $5. 

Reviews

Between the Lines is one of the few films I’ve seen dealing with the counterculture years that doesn’t rip it off or send it up.
— NYtimes
« September 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
Fri 20

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Fri 20

Architecture+Film: Push

Fri, Sep 20 / 7 pm
Fri 20

Asako I & II

Sat, Sept 14 / 7:30 pm
Wed, Sept 18 / 7 pm
Thu & Fri, Sept 19 & 20 / 9 pm
Sat, Sept 21 / 5 pm
Wed, Sept 25 / 9 pm
Sat, Sept 28 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Fri 20

Marianne & Leonard: Words of Love

Fri, Sept 13 / 7 pm
Sat, Sept 14 / 3 pm & 9:30 pm
Sun, Sept 15 / 3 pm
Wed, Sept 18 / 9:30 pm
Sat, Sept 21 / 3 pm & 9:30 pm
Sun, Sept 22 / 7 pm
Fri 20

Asako I & II

Sat, Sept 14 / 7:30 pm
Wed, Sept 18 / 7 pm
Thu & Fri, Sept 19 & 20 / 9 pm
Sat, Sept 21 / 5 pm
Wed, Sept 25 / 9 pm
Sat, Sept 28 / 3 pm & 5 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact