Loading Events
Now Playing

Restoration Tuesdays: Alien (New 4K Restoration)

Tue, May 7 / 9 pm
Tue, May 14 / 7 pm
Tue, May 21 / 9 pm
Tue, May 28 / 7 pm
Directed by Ridley Scott
1979, USA, 117 min

A new 4K restoration in celebration of the 40th anniversary of one of the greatest sci-fi horror films of all time! Ordered to investigate a distress signal emanating from a seemingly uninhabited planet, the crew of a space freighter inadvertently picks up a most unwelcome passenger: a gut-busting alien parasite that quickly grows into an enormous, sharp-toothed, acid-bleeding beast. As the crew members are slowly whittled down, the ship’s warrant officer Ellen Ripley (Sigourney Weaver) soon finds herself having to face down the fearsome, canoe-headed creature all by her lonesome.

Restoration Tuesdays is a new series shining a light on the important work being done to preserve and promote the history of film. Generously Sponsored by IATSE 856.

Reviews

After 40 years, this sci-fi horror masterpiece still feels lethally contemporary.
– Peter Bradshaw, The Guardian
« October 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
Thu 24

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Thu 24

Aurora Gorealis: My Bloody Valentine

Thu, Oct 17 / 7 pm
Thu, Oct 24 / 7 pm
Thu, Oct 31 / 9 pm
Thu 24

Barbara Rubin and the Exploding NY Underground

Thu, Oct 24 / 9 pm
Sat, Oct 26 / 9 pm
Sun, Oct 27 / 7 pm
Wed, Oct 30 / 9 pm

Fri 25

Buddy

Sat, Oct 19 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Sun, Oct 20 / 5 pm
Fri, Oct 25 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, Oct 26 & 27 / 5 pm
Wed & Thu, Oct 30 & 31 / 7 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact