Loading Events
Now Playing

Rendezvous with Madness Film Tour: Swift Current

Fri, Aug 11 / 7 pm
Directed by Joshua Rofé
2016, Canada, 74 min

When he was on his game as a professional hockey player, Sheldon Kennedy was in complete control: assured, aggressive, strategic and always in motion. Off the ice, however, Kennedy was living a secret nightmare. A victim of serial sexual abuse perpetrated by a coach, Kennedy struggled with trauma, guilt and anger over secret he perilously kept from those around him. Inevitably it all boiled over. It would be a journey that would initially plunge Kennedy from stardom to shame, but eventually resurrected the tortured athlete’s career as an internationally renowned spokesperson for people who had shared – and were trying to survive — the same ordeal. Swift Current is a propulsive documentary account of Sheldon Kennedy’s extraordinary escape from darkness. Geoff Pevere, Program Director of Rendenz vous du Madness will introduce the film and answer questions.

Plays With:

Psychedelic Soldiers / Dirs. Michael Spadafora & Anastasia Starova / 2015, Canada, 15 min / The story of 2 veterans’ journey through the hell of post-traumatic
stress disorder and a controversial alternative treatment they turned to when nothing else helped.

Co-presented by Rendezvous with Madness and Art Beat  Studio.  

rnedez-vous-logo                       artbeat-logo-for-rendez-vous

Reviews

A truly powerful film...Kennedy’s story is very moving. There are difficult challenges that come after speaking up about abuse, and Swift Current gives viewers an intimate look at what they can be and how victims can learn to deal with them. -William Brownridge, Toronto Film Scene
« Nov 2017 » loading...
M T W T F S S
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
Fri 17

Architecture+Film: Columbus

Fri, Nov 17 / 7 pm
Fri 17

Faces Places (Visages, Villages)

Thu & Fri, Nov 16 & 17 / 9 pm
Sat, Nov 18 / 3 pm
Thu, Nov 23 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, Nov 25 & 26 / 3 pm
Fri 17

Suspiria: 40th Anniversary 4K Restoration

Sat, Nov 11 / 9 pm
Fri, Nov 17 / 11 pm
Sat, Nov 18 / 9 pm
Fri, Nov 24 / 8:30 pm
Sat, Nov 25 / 11 pm
Sun, Nov 26 / 7 pm
Sat 18

Blue Screen//Green Screen shooting & editing!

Saturday November 18//12pm - 6pm
Sat 18

The Women’s Balcony

Sat & Sun, Nov 18 & 19 / 7 pm
Wed, Nov 22 / 7 pm
Thu, Nov 30 / 9 pm
Sat, Dec 2 / 9 pm
Sun, Dec 3 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Dec 6 & 7 / 7 pm
Sat, Dec 9 / 9 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location
We’re located across the street from Old Market Square, on the 3rd floor of the Artspace building (just upstairs from our Cinematheque) at 100 Arthur Street at Bannatyne - one block west of Main Contact Us
contact