Loading Events
Now Playing

RADICAL RECESS: A SCREENING OF AVANT GARDE FILMS FOR CHILDREN!

SAT, AUG 4 / 2 pm
Curated by Larissa Fan
FREE ADMISSION!

Inspired by the Courtisane Festival’s Baby Matinee, Images presents a 16mm experimental film programme for children. Radical Recess attempts to engage children with experimental film and contemporary art, demonstrating that they can have even more radical tastes than their parents!

This short program includes Ed Ackerman’s masterpiece of typewriter animation, the three minute animated classic Primiti Too Taa, Steve Woloshen’s direct animated work Didre Novo, a film that sets shapes, lines and colours to the beat of Masai tribal music and Jennifer Reeve’s The Girl’s Nervy in which fleeting shapes in lush colours flicker and move across the screen.

« December 2018 » loading...
M T W T F S S
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
Thu 13

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Thu 13

I Am Cuba (Restoration)

Thu, Dec 6 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, Dec 8 & 9 / 3 pm & 7 pm
Wed - Fri, Dec 12 - 14 / 7 pm
Sat, Dec 15 / 3 pm
Thu 13

The Changeling (Restoration)

Sun, Dec 2 / 7 pm
Thu, Dec 6 / 9:30 pm
Sat, Dec 8 / 9:30 pm
Thu, Dec 13 / 9:30 pm
Fri 14

Scotty and the Secret History of Hollywood

Fri & Sat, Dec 14 & 15 / 9:30 pm
Sun, Dec 16 / 7 pm
Thu & Fri, Dec 20 & 21 / 9 pm
Sat, Dec 22 / 5 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Dec 23 / 5 pm
Sat 15

The Heat: A Kitchen (R)evolution

Sat, Dec 15 / 7 pm
Sun, Dec 16 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Wed - Fri, Dec 19 - 21 / 7 pm
Sat, Dec 22 / 3 pm & 7 pm
Sun, Dec 23 / 3 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact