Loading Events
Now Playing

Punjabi Cinema: Toxification

Mon, Jan 27 / 7 pm
Directed by Rehmat Rayatt & Leva Kwestany
2019, UK/India, 66 min
Punjabi with English subtitles

Panel discussion and Skype Q&A with the directors following the screening.

Toxification tells the story of the plight of the Punjabi farmers. The north Indian state of Punjab was said to have produced enough food to feed the entire country during the Green Revolution. However, the overuse of chemicals introduced to enhance production has poisoned the water with carcinogens and created an infertile soil addicted to chemicals. As the land is dependent, so are more and more farmers becoming addicted to drugs, which help them to work longer hours in the fields.

Presented in partnership with the Winnipeg-based Kohinoor Collective, formed by Noor Bhangu and Gurpreet Sehra. Through the showcasing of film and video, Kohinoor uses a critical postcolonial lens to examine historical and contemporary topics impacting diasporic communities. The collective aims to grow into a strong network of artists and critical thinkers.

« February 2020 » loading...
M T W T F S S
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
1
Fri 28

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Sat 29

CICFF: Best of the Fests

Fri, Feb 28 / 7 pm
Sat 29
Sat 29

Varda by Agnès

Fri & Sat, Feb 7 & 8 / 7 pm
Sun, Feb 9 / 5 pm
Wed, Feb 12 / 9 pm
Thu, Feb 13 / 7 pm
Sat, Feb 29 / 2:30 pm
Sun, Mar 1 / 7 pm
Sat 29

Restoration Tuesdays: Daguerréotypes

Tue, Feb 4 / 3 pm
Tue, Feb 11 / 7 pm
Tue, Feb 18 / 9 pm
Tue, Feb 25 / 3 pm
Sat, Feb 29 / 5 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact